Too much of a good thing??

In wet shaving we shavers usually blame our poor shaves on a poor product, our technique or something that just simply lacked from performance to our very own concentration. My question is that could the opposite happen and something be so good that it causes a bad shave??

In this post I discuss too much of a good thing….(****possible mind blowing info ahead 😉

 

So while I shaved yesterday I prepared my razor by stropping the edge to get it perfectly shave ready. I soaked my brush to warm the bristles and absorb a bit of water. I then got out my witch hazel and my aftershave as I usually do and then proceeded to the next step. I got out my chosen soap for the shave and bloomed it while I showered. Everything was in order for a great shave. I applied some hydrating pre shave in the shower to prepare my facial hair. I was ready for a great shave….or so I thought.

The soap I had chosen(with some help from the Canadian Wet Shavers Facebook group) was Haslinger Schafmilch. Arguably the best performing soap in my den……if not top 3 easy. So put it simply I love this soap and I will never be without it in my den. Sure the scent is kinda blah….but its performance is out of this world for me.

IMG_20160302_082359

I loaded my brush and had enough for about 6 passes in a very short period of time. I ad actually forgotten how easy this soap was to lather. I started face lathering and the lather was super rich so I added a bit of water just to make sure it wasn’t overly thick. Now this soap can handle a tonne of water and I had it dialed in within a few seconds to one of the richest slickest cushioning lathers I have ever had. I was honestly going to take a picture as it was GLORIOUS. And honestly I don’t get overly excited about lather anymore, but this really had me excited.

I completed my first pass with my straight in record time!!! WOOO(a la Rick Flair)! Second pass the lather was still unreal and I just added a pinch of water…..perfection. Second pass done equally quick. But there was a problem……..

I was so happy and proud of my lather I didn’t bother worrying about my technique. I didn’t take my time and focus on stretching the skin and blade angle. I figured a lather just good would make up for my minor mistakes and all would be fine. Sure this was the case when I used this soap with a mild DE, but with a straight I need to focus and take care. Which I didn’t. By the time I started applying the lather for my final pass I could tell I was far to quick and that I was going to have an irritated face.

 

I finished my final pass and rinsed. huh, my face didn’t look to bad at all. My confidence was back….the soap had made up for my errors. Wait for it……….I applied the witch hazel. The witch hazel for me rarely burns unless I nick myself. To say I had a nice tingle would be an understatement. My face became very red in places and I could see where all my mistakes were. The next brilliant idea I had was to apply an aftershave. Sure I should have put on a balm which would have calmed my skin and moisturized it, But NOOOO. Let’s splash on an aftershave I though. SKIN BRACER!!!!!! Sweet mother of all things holy. Did someone switch the Skin Bracer with sulfuric acid? Was my face melting like that guy from Raiders of the Lost Ark(look it up)? I went full Macaulay Culkin and let out a shreek. This was pain. This is what pouring salt in a wound feels like. This is why guys try one traditional wet shave and then never shave this way again. I was truly punishing myself.

IMG_20160301_194053

The burning eventually subsided and my face has since recovered. however it brings up the question: Does a product that is too good give you a false sense of comfort? In this case I can %100 say it did. I was overconfident because I had an amazing lather. It made me wonder if any of you readers out there ever line up what looks to be the perfect shave only for it to fall flat because maybe you expect so much from it, or you think the tools can make up for a less than perfect technique.

Has this happened to anyone else? Or am I the only Jackass that has done this. Honestly its not my first time doing it with a soap or even certain razor/blade combos.

 

thanks for reading this post everyone. I am going to do a Review of Haslinger Schafmilch both on this blog and Youtube in the coming weeks so keep an eye out and don’t let this post scare you away from an amazing soap!!

 

Keep Smooth everybody!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. Christian Levesque · March 2, 2016

    Great article. And yes, when I approach a straight razor shave with the comfort of an great start be it because of a great shaving product/maneuver, my confidence distracts from the focus required to ensure my technique is solid. Don’t mess with a straight edge! Haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 2, 2016

      Thanks Christian!! Glad you read my blog. You are a big name in wet shaving!! I’m honoured

      Like

  2. Brian Mulreany · March 3, 2016

    The only times I have cut myself is when I took my technique for granted or was distracted by the bathroom radio.
    Concentration is key no matter how many times you’ve shaved.
    Brian

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stefan · March 4, 2016

    You are the only jackass:-)
    Been there, done that.
    As Brian says. Concentration is the key.
    The best tennis player (or any sports) in the world would loose against the player ranked 100 if he isn’t focused.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 4, 2016

      So very true. I feel with straights it is even more important than SEs or DEs to maintain focus.

      I cannot believe I liked your comment even though you called me a Jackass…. Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

