Admitting Defeat. aka Lesson Learned….again

They say you learn something new everyday. They also say that you learn from your mistakes. Well, the first statement is very true, but the latter for me is often questioned. Not that it is an incorrect statement it’s just how many times do I have to make the same mistake before I learn something???

In today’s post I sadly admit defeat in the face of glory and maybe, just maybe, have learned from my mistakes.

IMG_20151019_200010383

this past Saturday I had the pleasure of attending a wedding of two of my wife and I’s friends. I was extremely excited to wear my new suit, shirt, shoes, belt etc…. And even more so I was excited to pamper myself with a luxurious shave. Truefitt and Hill 1805 shaving cream, Gillette Aristocrat TTO OC, Zenshave LE brush were the potent lineup I chose. All three are amazing pieces and perform amazingly every single time I use them……until Saturday afternoon.

now this was %100 my fault. I left myself with hardly anytime to shave and shower and get ready and rushed every part of my shave. Had a short shower so my facial hair was NOT hydrated or softened at all. Didn’t bother to use Pre-shave to compensate for my lack of prep. I used my brush in far to wet of a state to bowl lather my cream….and on top of that I didn’t take the time to develop a proper lather. Needless to say my lather was poor, my prep was equally as poor and I decided to use a feather which isn’t a very forgiving blade.

You guessed it. I got a few nicks and a weeper. On a day that I really wanted that great shave. Luckily my post shave came to the rescue. I splashed on some Thayer’s Witch Hazel(cucumber) and let that dry. This really took away the irritating burn I gave myself and soothed my skin. Next I used a sample of 1805 balm and this continued to sooth a bit and really made my face feel supple and hydrated. I wish I had more of this balm to test because it obviously goes perfect with the cream but also seemed to be a top quality balm.

The clear lesson is to take your time. Or if you cannot do so at least use a very forgiving razor and blade combo….not an OC with a feather.

THE SHAVE!!!!

IMG_20151019_200124889

Razor : Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Feather

Soap : Truefitt & HIll 1805 Cream

Brush : Zenshave LE

Post Shave : Thayer’s Cucumber Witch Hazel

Aftershave :  Truefitt & Hill 1805 Balm

Fragrance : Bleu de Chanel EdT

As poor as the shave was the post shave saved the day. In the end it was a decent DFS shave put not comfortable. The 1805 balm is a fantastic scent that I wish lasted on my face all day. the brush probably would have done a great job had I given it time to create the lather. It felt soft and had decent backbone, but it was trying to apply a crappy lather.

To finish off the shave and get me set for the wedding I chose Bleu de Chanel EdT. I love the scent of this stuff. Great grapefruit burst at the top then it turns into a great somewhat creamy sandalwood.

IMG_20151018_111319169_HDR

Today’s shave!!!!

Tobacco Tuesday!!

IMG_20151019_200504830

Razor : Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Feather

Soap : Razorock Zi’Peppino

Brush : Semogue IB LE Boar

Aftershave : Elvado Wild Mint Lime Balm

Mmmm. Zi’Peppino is awesome. Not probably what comes to mind when you think of tobacco, but the tobacco flower note in this soap is outstanding. It’s almost like a tobacco/aquatic scent. It performed well as all Razorock soaps do. I decided to go with the Italian Barber Boar to complete the IB shave. The brush is a great performer and quite photogenic as well. Again I went with the Gillette ‘Crat with a feather.

A nice overall shave, nothing amazing or to write much about. Again I probably needed to take more time as I did rush it a bit.

The Elvado balm was a really nice end to the shave. The scent is very relaxing. I would my house/bathroom/bedroom to have this scent. It makes me happy every time I smell it. And also calms me down. Big Thumbs up for this balm!!!!

IMG_20151019_200455621

Cheers everyone, and hopefully I get some time to do another video this week. I’m finding it difficult to find the time to make videos as much as I want. Maybe I need to film multiples when I have the time I guess.

Have a great week everyone!!!!

2 comments

  1. ShavEzy · October 28, 2015

    The Elvado balm sounds really nice! Must try and track some down for my hubby.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · October 28, 2015

      It is a great balm!! The Bay RUM is also nice if be likes Bay RUM, but the Wild Mint lime is fantastic year round

      Like

Leave a Reply

