A Surprising Shave…and a Disappointing video

A couple of nights ago I attempted to record my straight razor shave for the first time on video. All was going well until my camera died….However I ended up posting the video I did take on Youtube for people to see and give me some feedback. As disappointed as I was with that outcome, this mornings shave more than made up for it!!!!

20150806_224526

So this mornings shave was a bit of a mashup of stuff I like or haven’t used in a bit…..really it was just a grab and go type of shave. I wasnt expecting an unreal shave, but knowing the stuff I had chosen I figured it would be pretty good.

Well, Pretty good doesn’t do this shave justice. Take the soap for example. WHOLLY KAW’s Twice as Spice, It has grown on me since my first use to say the very least. The scent IS fantastic….not spicy to me. Just a really inviting warm, calming scent…almost powdery but not quite. Wonderful. The performance of this VEGAN soap is absolutely great. Nice and slick with great cushion and glide. If you aren’t sure about Vegan soaps and if they perform grab this stuff and I don’t think you will be able to tell the difference.

The Edwin Jagger DE89L was my first DE and I still use the head once in a while but I rarely find myself using the handle except maybe when I travel. Today I gave it a shot and it was great, truly a well made razor and I think an awesome one for beginners and veterans alike. The fit and finish is top notch and it shines like nobody’s business!!! Loaded with a Gillette 7 O’clock black the resulting shave was effortless and immensely enjoyable. My face is DFS and 95% BBS. There is a reason this razor is so popular, it’s not a fluke.

THE SHAVE!!!

20150806_224638[1]

Razor : Edwin Jagger DE89L

Blade : Gillette 7 O’clock Black

Soap : Wholly Kaw – Twice as Spice

Brush : Semogue IB LE Boar

Toner : Thayer’s Witch Hazel Aftershave

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Bay Rum

I am so happy about this shave. The scents mingled perfectly and my face feels amazing. It is so humid and muggy here that I am trying to steer away from balms…..despite how much I love them. The Aftershave splash from Barberry Coast is awesome. I love the Bay Rum scent and the way it makes my skin feel. A tiny bit of burn but not a face melting burn like some splashes.

The Semogue LE boar brush is really a great brush…especially for the price. now that it is breaking in it almost seems like a smaller version of the Semogue Owners Club which I LOOOOVE!! I for one could not choose Boar vs. Badger vs. Synthetics as I find they all have their pro’s and Con’s.

Overall and awesome smooth comfortable shave which in the end is all I really want. BBS is just a bonus and doesn’t happen very often…at least not without some irritation. Today’s shave was not BBS, however it was 100% irritation free. I’m thinking shaving every other day is going to help this.

20150806_224541

Now, I just uploaded a new Youtube video that I would love some feedback on. I realize the video is incomplete. But I do plan on doing more and just want to know what you guys think of it. Should I use straights and DE’s, just do reviews, what are some things you guys would like to see. I will be doing a review of Scent Trunk, and Truefitt and Hill 1805 cream in the coming weeks as well.

Here is a link….Hope you guys like it!!

CLICK HERE >>>>>>>>>     Straight Razor SHAVE!!! Incomplete 😦

Have a great weekend and week everyone!!!! Stay smooth!!!

Leave a Reply

