A New Beginning

Moving all weekend. Lots of guests. A parade, two cookouts, and a Holiday Monday. To say I am exhausted would be an understatement. But Happy, I am so FREAKING HAPPY. Today I started my new job at a different hospital and I am very excited for the challenge. So to mark a new exciting beginning I decided to use a new(to me) and exciting soap that I am very confident in using! I wanted to start my work week and well, for lack of a better term, new life off right!!

PhotoArt_08042015090823

I think we all have our certain soaps and razors and brushes that we use when we want a guaranteed great shave. Something in our comfort zone that we trust to produce a fantastic shave. For me Barrister and Mann fits that bill. Outstanding performance and scents that really intrigue my olfactory sense.

Immediately when you open the tub of Rhapsody you get a strong whiff of what I think is lemon. A wonderful citrus blast to wake my senses. after the blast of lemon you do definitely get the patchouli, and wood notes. An invigorating scent to say the least and one of my favorites from Barrister and Mann.

As for my razor I had to go with none other than the Gillette Aristocrat TTO OC. This razor was the first ever one piece TTO razor. And in my opinion they got it right the first time. I have not used a razor that I enjoy more than this. Fatboys, Slants, NEWs, injectors….you name it…this razor tops them all. An exquisite design that stands the test of time and looks better than almost every razor that has come after it. If I could only have one safety razor I would choose this 1934 Aristocrat Open Comb. Smooth, efficient and strikingly good looking…….Sounds almost like I am describing myself!!!!!!

The brush was my Zenshave/HTGAM Limited edition brush. It was released with the EH+ HTGAM soap and only 7 were made. The knot on this is the best badger knot I own. When this knot get wet the gel tips become silky soft yet the 2-band knot gives the perfect amount of backbone. A pleasure to face lather with and the detail in the handle is amazing from the Canadian brush making artisan.

OK ONTO THE SHAVE DETAILS!!!!!

20150803_222823Razor : 1934 Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Gillette Platinum

Brush : Zenshave/HTGAM LE

Soap : B & M RHAPSODY

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : Geo F. Trumpers Extract of limes

I wanted an awesome shave to start my week and that is exactly what I got. A wonderful shave to begin our new lives in the city and my new job. One thing about this soap is that the scent actually lasts a few hours. Not strongly but I get whiffs for a couple of hours after my shave…..this is not a common thing for soaps. Usually the soap scent is gone before I leave the bathroom.

The Gillette Platinum is a really nice blade for me. It works well in this razor and is a very consistent blade. It doesn’t get the hype of the Gillette Silver Blues but I feel it is pretty damn close in performance. Worth a try if you are still looking for a great blade.

Today I finished my shave with the GFT Skin Food and have to admit I love the lime scent but find it a bit sticky when rubbing it in and for a couple of minutes after I apply it. However that does go away quickly….more of a FYI if you try it.Performance wise I feel it does a really nice job with very little product….I almost always use too much.

I cannot say anything more about the soap. RHAPSODY is just AWESOME. OUTSTANDING performance and a scent that I love….what more could you ask for?? Rich, thick, creamy, slick lather that protected my face wonderfully. I will be using this soap right into late fall as I feel it does have a feel of walking in a park.

20150803_222650Hopefully now that I am back in a routine I will be posting more blog posts as well as some Youtube videos.

Cheers everyone and thanks for bearing with me over the past month or so as things have been hectic to say the very least!!!

SHAVE ON EVERYONE!!!

5 comments

  1. mickeyobe · August 4, 2015

    Best wishes in your new home and new job.

    Mickey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Froogle_Jimmy · August 4, 2015

    Thank you so much!!! We are very excited to say the least!!

    Like

  3. Andrew · August 4, 2015

    Good luck on the new job. I was with you up until the describing myself part 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

