The Week that was…..aka what a week

So it is Friday and I am finally back at my job after training the past four days. I had to commute an hour back and forth each day which is a lot for me as normally it takes me 5 minutes to walk to work. It was great to train for the job I will be starting in August and I am really looking forward to it…..though it will be sad to leave my current job as I have met some great people and the staff at my current job are so nice.  But I digress. We are here to talk shaving and I had some great shaves this week including my last three!!! And to be honest one of my shaves actually has me a bit baffled…..

20150617_223545

So you may be wondering what shave had me baffled. I used all products I have used numerous times the past few months aside from the Valobra stick. THIS is where I am baffled. This stick performs just simply fantastically. Awesome lather, slickness, post shave…..its an awesome stick, but it does have a bit of a high price tag for a 50gram stick. The scent however is just meh. Clean, slightly powdery maybe, just kind of an OK scent. The scent is not overly strong and in your face but apparently it is very heavy. When I say heavy I mean it stays with you for a long time. The soaps scent stayed on me for a few hours yesterday……YA HOURS. I was completely dumbfounded. The only other soap that has lasted even close to that long was TABAC. Has anyone else had this from a soap before?? And I am not talking just a faint whiff…..I could literally smell it. I wish some of my other soaps did that.

The Shave itself!

20150617_223521

Razor : Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Feather

Soap : Valobra Stick

Brush : Plisson Synthetic

Toner : Thayer’s Cucumber

Aftershave : Elvado Wild Mint Lime Aftershave Balm

This was an absolutely awesome shave. The ‘Crat/Feather combo is the perfect mix of vintage and modern. An EASY BBS. Simply flawless. This soap is one to check out for sure. I think the lather is better than TABAC to be honest…..this is a below the radar soap I think because of the price. Every aspect aside from scent are top notch with this stuff.

The post shave was awesome and just got better with the Elvado and Thayer’s to round it all out. This stuff may be my travel gear….The Valobra may even knock off LaToja and Tabac for top shaving stick in my den……time will tell.

Wednesdays Shave PLAY BALL!!!

So on hump day I went with my most intriguing scented soap. Barrister and Mann’s Diamond. Great soap in every single aspect. An awesome part of this SOTD was the Semogue Owners Club Boar. It totally felt like the perfect choice to go with the Diamond as the handle looks very similar to a Louisville Slugger bat in my opinion….not to mention it performs awesome. It just keeps getting better and better.

20150616_223921

Razor : Wade & Butcher

Soap : Barrister and Mann DIAMOND

Brush : SOC Boar

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : The Barberry Coast Havana

Another awesome shave. I used stuff that I just love. My top Boar brush, my top Straight Razor, my top Balm, and my top scented soap(which is probably #2 overall for performance).

Like most of us wetshavers I love trying new things, but there is something comforting about using stuff that you know will perform. That is what this shave was. I knew exactly what I was getting and I knew the final result would be a great shave…..and it was! Feeling good and smelling great!

This Mornings End of the Week shave!

I for one always want to end the week on a high note going into the weekend. This mornings shave did not disappoint. Great soap, great scent and a great shave!

20150618_231702 20150618_231954

Razor : Gloria Razor

Soap : Barrister and Mann FEROX

Brush : Wolf Whisker ‘WHALER’

Preshave : Proraso Green

Toner : Thayer’s Aftershave Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Queen Charlotte Soaps Iced Key Lime

Oooooh, Ferox smells amazing!! The grapefruit and vetiver combo is such a great mix. You really get some woody notes and earth mixed with the tart grapefruit. I am a grapefruit lover and this soap really hits the mark for me. It performs like every B&M soap I have tried….simply outstanding!

The brush lathered the soap very well and looks great in pics. The Iced Key Lime balm is a perfect way to end the shave and keep the citrus vibe going. The iced key lime also gives an awesome blast of menthol to invigorate and wake me up!!

The razor itself is a gem. I got it in a lot of razors and thought nothing of it as I bought the lot for  2 other razors…..however, this is the only razor that remains from the lot. Great weight, great scales and I think it is simply a beautiful razor. I don’t even think it had ever been honed when I got it. The blade was pretty close to pristine and Josh at GrindhouseHFX put a really nice edge on it for me!

20150618_231848

A fantastic DFS shave to end the week and get me ready for the weekend!!

Hope everyone had a great week and has an even better weekend.

Stay smooth and shave on my friends!!!!

Leave a Reply

