Big News!!

While my last two shaves were fantastic, and I used a new soap I have even bigger news. I got a new job and I am moving!!!!! I am very excited as my new job is only 20 minutes from the city. Sorry I just felt like telling all my followers. I am not 100% sure when I will start, and how often I will be posting as I am now full on house hunting. Anyhow, let’s get into today’s post about a NEW soap to me and a soap that is battling for top spot in my den at the moment.

8 This morning I finally got a chance to use my recently acquired tub of Wholly KAW. The scent is called ‘Twice as Spice’. To be %100 honest the name really threw me off. I was expecting a spicy, peppery, really bold scent. What I got was a subtle scent with very little spiciness at all. Now I do really enjoy the scent and think it is actually quite nice the name doesn’t suit it. The scent is very mellow and I picked up notes of vanilla, some wood, and I think a bit of jasmine. Very clean and inviting. Maybe ‘Twice as Nice’ could have been a better name 😉

4

The soap did perform very well though. It is a vegan formula…..however it has ambergris listed as a note, so I assume it is a synthetic ambergris. I didn’t put on any balm today to see how the post shave of the soap was. 4.5 hours later and my face feels really nice. I’m quite impressed. I think it must be the coconut oil present in the soap that gives such a nice post shave feel. I will definitely be using this soap again before I give any detailed thoughts on performance. However I can say this is a really nice soap based on my first use.

My Saturday shave was simply spectacular. The Barrister and Mann Diamond is just, to my nose, an amazing scent. I don’t know why a soap that smells like baseball is so great. It does capture exactly what comes to mind at a baseball game without being harsh or overly grassy or smelling like spilled beer. It is pretty incredible stuff.

9

Now let’s get into each shave!!!

Monday Morning minus the Menthol

7

Razor : Geo.Wostenholm 5/8″

Soap : Wholly Kaw ‘Twice as Spice’

Brush : Zenshave/HTGAM LE

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Pre-shave : Prototype oil

This was a great shave with the Wosty. The Wholly Kaw performed better than I thought it would for some reason. It gets really good reviews so I am not sure why I was surprised. I do agree with the scent not be very strong though. For me I don’t mind that as it make it easier to pair with aftershaves and balms etc. The soap loaded in about 15 seconds and there was enough for 3 full passes and a fourth XTG pass of just the cheeks.

The ZenShave brush is just a killer badger brush. I would be happy if all my Badger knots were this exact knot…..its that good. And the Wosty gave me a nice irritation free shave. It has a slight smile and I think it helps get my trouble spots on my neck.

I did use a prototype preshave oil that I have been testing out and it seems to really work. I am excited for it to be released and see what others think! To finish the shave I used Thayer’s Rose. That’s it. A pretty bare bones shave to see just what the soap has to offer. And I will say the post shave on this stuff is impressive. I have zero dryness and my face feel supple and hydrated.

SATURDAY’S SHAVING SPECTACULAR!!!!!!!!!!

2

Razor : Wade and Butcher 6/8″

Brush : Plisson Synthetic

Soap : Barrister and Mann’s DIAMOND

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Havana

Pre-shave : Prototype oil

Baseball season is in full swing and with that I am plummeting down the standings in my baseball pool! Oh well, it’s all for fun….at least that’s what I keep telling myself. This was probably my most enjoyable straight shave to date. I’m getting more and more nimble with the blade and I feel more relaxed which is helping. I’m not perfect, but I feel an improvement each time I pick up the blade. I cannot say the final product is any better, but getting to the final stroke is getting easier.

This soap has taken first spot in my den for the spring and summer. I love Haslinger Schafmilch, but this stuff gets me excited whenever I use it. Yes a big part of it is the scent, but the performance is also second to none in my shave den. I’ve learned that this soap can handle a lot of water to increase slickness without breaking down the lather. This is great for me when using my straights and need the added slickness and glide. I’m not sure what else I can say about this stuff…..if you haven’t tried it, you should! Especially if you are a baseball fan….it’s pretty impressive how well this soap evokes the scent of a baseball game.

The Havana Balm works awesome with this soap as well which is great because I love using it. Overall this was just a great DFS shave that was easy to attain.

Have an awesome week!!!!

Leave a Reply

