More Respect, Less Neglect

After writing my last blog post on Thursday I told myself I would use the soaps I mentioned in my ‘Neglected Soaps’ this week. Well, to be honest I had to use one of those soaps on Friday as I could not wait until this week. No, I didn’t use a Barrister and Mann soap Friday to complete my personal B&M week. The soap I used though hangs right with B&M in performance and quality though. And This mornings shave was amazing as well with a staple in the Wet Shaving world!

sotdmay25-2

Friday I had to succumb to the Reef Point Soaps Espresso. The scent of this soap is just awesome to me. Intoxicating may not do it justice for me. I honestly sniff this soap every time I see it….I have never done this with another soap. Its sweet, rich, and the scent strength is fantastic. I’ll say it again….it smells very much like a Coffee Crisp chocolate bar. I love that it is nothing like any of my other scents. Maybe that’s part of the reason I love it. I have quite a few citrus scents and tobacco scents so it is hard for them to really blow my socks off….sure I really like some of them more than others, but there are a ton of citrus and tobacco scents. I am sure there are more than just this one coffee scent, but I think this one is a treat. I’m not sure if I would want to wear it everyday simply because it is such a rich scent. However I am sure I want to try more Reef Point Soaps based on this soap.

Now onto the shave!

sotdmay25-1

Razor : Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap : Reef Point ESPRESSO

Brush : Muhle STF V2.0

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm

OK, so by now you understand how much I love the scent of this soap. The performance matches the scent. Absolutely top notch. This is a heavy hitter when it comes to lather. It is right up there with B&M and I don’t say that about that many soaps. It’s a 6oz tub as well so you get great value with this product as well. Easy to lather and it provides a rich creamy lather that the scent just exudes from……..what a joy! Its like the froth from a fancy coffee drink. Nice and slick and great cushion as well. Post shave is also above average for me…..not quite Haslinger or B&M, but great none the less. If you want to try a really great soap with a really different scent GET THIS SOAP!

The Havana Balm yet again matches up wonderfully with this soap…….I smell like a cappuccino and a piece of biscotti….or should I say biSCOTTY?!?! Wonderful performance from this balm as is expected.

The Razor and blade combo was quite nice as well. Very smooth and effortless. I just cannot stop using this razor. Not much more I can say about it other than that its perfect for me.

The Muhle STF synthetic brush is great. The knot itself isn’t all that big which works for me. I think it’s the size 2(medium). One thing about synthetics is that they whip up lather so effortlessly and are crazy soft. If you cannot lather a soap with a synth, you might as well toss the soap in the bin. Some say the Muhle?Edwin Jagger synthetics are a bit springy and that is kind of true at first. Once you get used to the spring/backbone this brush is awesome and I prefer it just ever so slightly over the Plisson for that reason, I also find the handle to be a bit more ergonomic for my hand.

Overall this was a killer shave!!! Soft, Smooth, and Smelling good…..what else could you ask for??

MENTHOL MONDAY!!

sotdmay25-7

Ooooh, I love me some menthol Monday, and today is turning out to be a hot one! So what else to turn to than another one of my top 5 neglected soaps. Proraso GREEN! This soap is arguably the most popular soap in wetshaving. It has been around for a long time, everyone has heard of it, and most guys have tried it. I think it may be the most recommended non-artisan soap there is. I know I always recommend it to new wetshavers for a few reasons.

#1 You can get it almost everywhere. Its available at a lot of pharmacies….even in Canada!

#2 Its super easy to lather. This stuff practically lathers itself.

#3 Its cheap….ish. A tub will cost you less than $10 and can last quite a while. A seriously great value.

#4 Its a gateway into menthol. The soap isn’t super highly mentholated but enough that you can feel the cold. This is great to see if you actually like menthol.

#5 Its a Classic. The scent isn’t polarizing and reminds me of a barbershop. Use this stuff and you will fit right in with your fellow wetshavers!

THE SHAVE!!!

sotdmay25-5

Razor : Gillette New Head / iKon Bulldog Handle

Blade : Polsilver SI

Brush : Semogue Owners Club

Soap : Proraso Green

Toner : Thayer’s Aftershave Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Proraso Green Pre Barba

Proraso is just plain stellar. The scent won’t WOW you, and I don’t think any one of the performance factors are unreal. However, as a whole Proraso just flat out performs. the one thing about it is that it is super easy to get an awesome lather regardless of how much water you add or don’t add. This may be the reason I think it’s the perfect soap for new wet shavers. It is prettly slick and it has really nice protection as well. Maybe not the best post shave as I would say its average.

The Polsilver in the Gillette New Head is just plain awesome!!! I had 3 days growth and this combo made short easy work of it. Like buttah baby!! DFS without any nicks, weepers or irritation. I used the Proraso Pre as a post shave balm again today along with the witch hazel and man oh man my face is feelin’ fine. Also the kick of menthol is such a great feeling in the morning to wake me up. There is definitely more of a kick in the Pre than the soap itself in my opinion. I really want to try the splash and wonder how it rates in menthol.

The SOC is just a plain beast. Looking back on old SOTD thread I have noticed I use this brush almost every time I use Proraso. I will continue this as well. The SOC whips up lather with Proraso so easily. I only loaded for about 15-20 seconds and I could have shaved an entire YETI with ease. Needless to say I won’t be neglecting this soap now that the warm weather has finally arrived.

sotdmay25-6

Just an awesome past couple of shaves for me with great products. I would like to say I won’t neglect any more soaps, but I am pretty sure it’s going to happen to a few regardless. Hope you all had some great shaves and have some more this week!!!!!

2 comments

  1. Andrew · May 26, 2015

    Noted your Gillette New Head / iKon Bulldog Handle, its amazing how a handle can change a razor. I purchased a Merkur 180 locally on a whim ( Barrington St Shop) thought it was OK at best. About 2 weeks ago I put a Weber Bulldog Handle on it. Wow!! Night & Day – its a very nice instrument now, luv it. Still nothing on Facebook’s Canadian Wet Shavers; beginning to think it might be the “The Toronto Club” in disguise 🙂

    Like

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 27, 2015

      Yep, a stainless handle makes a world of difference.
      Did you get my friend request on Facebook? If not email me and I will add you to the group.

      Like

Leave a Reply

