A Bohemian Rhapsody!!

I think its safe to say that anyone in their thirties or later knows the song Bohemian Rhapsody. I don’t think any of the members of Queen would have thought the song would have gotten such a huge reniassance after the move Wayne’s World was released. I remember being in my early teens and knowing every lyric to that song after seeing the movie. I simply loved everything about the song. It was completely different from the other music I was listening to like Pearl Jam, Nirvana, and Soundgarden……and of course MC Hammer and Vanilla Ice. I had never heard anything like it. the closest would have been ‘A day in the Life’ by The Beatles. So much was going on. Tempo changes, Voice changes, and the lyrics just baffled me. Not only did my ears love this song, but my mind did as well. Where am I going with this? Well, this morning was the first time I got to use Rhapsody by Barrister and Mann. The question is would the soap live up to the songs hype???

sotdmay20-1

I know that the soap is not named after the song Bohemian Rhapsody, but anyone my age probably thinks of it when they hear the words bohemian or rhapsody. I knew the performance was going to be good, so my only question was about the scent. It was modeled ‘in the spirit of’ a scent from the house of Nicolai from the mid 80’s. The scent was bright and citrusy and called ‘New York. According to the B&M site it was worn by men of wealth, power and prestige. So William incorporated Pear Blossoms which bloom in Central park into the scent. He also used apple and cherry blossoms as well as quite a few other notes including, orange, orange flower, lemon, rose, vanilla, patchouli and others. When I read the description on the site I was immediately intrigued. However, whenever I see patchouli I think ‘HIPPY STINK’. I am not a big patchouli fan at all and this had me kind of reluctant to try this scent. I realize now it is not the major note in the scent and really I have like all of B&Ms scents thus far so why would this be any different.

sotdmay20-2

Razor : Gillette Black Beauty Adjustable(set at 4)

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap : Barrister & Mann Rhapsody

Brush : Wolf Whisker Whaler

Toner : Thayer’s Aftershave Witch Hazel

Aftershave : The Barberry Coast Bay Rum no.28

The scent of this soap is awesome!!! I lived up to the hype I placed on it. To my nose this is an eclectic mix of scents that are really bright and quite strong. There isn’t one note the really stands out above the rest. You can definitely pick up some citrus/fruit as well as a bit of floral and some woodsy musk. This scent simply works for my nose. It is invigorating and refreshing to me. I had heard some reviews of guys who were not big fans of the scent, and again I can see why. B&M scents are not for everyone and they are far from straight forward. While I do enjoy the odd straight forward scent, I really love complex scents like this. This is just a sample , but I have a tub on the way this week…..I cannot wait. It’s an awesome scent for spring.

Performance was fantastic once again! The lather whipped up rich and thick and was slick and cushioning. I used my Wolf Whiskers brush to lather up. I love the handle so much. It is very ergonomic for my hand and has excellent weight as well.

sotdmay20-3

The ‘Black Beauty’ was loaded with a Polsilver and I got a DFS shave. Not an amazingly close shave as it was only set to 4 which is pretty mild, a great shave none the less. I finished it all off with some Thayer’s Witch Hazel and a splash of Barberry Coast Bay Rum……..ooooh it smells so awesome. Lastly I applied some Nivea soft balm to finish it all off. 4+ hours later and I still feel hydrated and super smooth. Yet another great shave for B&M week!!!

Happy Wolf Whisker Wednesday and a happy HUMPDAY as well!!!!

Leave a Reply

