Monday Morning MENTHOL!!!

I cannot honestly say I am one of those people who despises Mondays. Is it my favorite day of the week? No, not even close. It is probably my least favorite day of the week, just not something that bothers me a great deal. One thing is for sure though, I love starting off the week with a great shave. It tends to set the tone for the week. And now that the warmer weather seems to be sticking around my Monday mornings will be filled with MENTHOL!!!

sotdmay10-1

This mornings choice was Queen Charlotte Soaps Ice Key Lime. This was one of the first soaps I ever used. This along with Vostok were my introduction to MENTHOL. When I first tried these soaps I had never used a single soap with any menthol, so I had no idea what to expect. Needless to say I was hooked after one shave!! I would say if I had to choose between the Iced Key lime and Vostok I would probably chose the Iced Key Lime. The Lime scent is actually quite nice and you still get that menthol scent that I also enjoy. I will say that the matching balms are a must if you ever purchase one of these QCS soaps. The extra menthol kick in the balms is just plain awesome!!!

Now onto the shave!!!!

What I felt like after the shave! ****not actually me

What I felt like after the shave! ****not actually me

Razor : Gillette New head / iKon Bulldog Handle

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap : Queen Charlotte Soaps – Iced Key Lime

Brush : Semogue Owners Club   Boar

Toner : Thayer’s Lemon Witch Hazel

Aftershave : QCS Iced Key Lime Balm + Huggy Bears Mentholated Cheery Tobacco

This was a wonderfully COLD shave. The New with a Polsilver worked wonders on my whiskers and left me with a wonderful DFS shave. The Iced Key Lime was cold from the first brush stroke until I put on the Thayer’s Lemon. I then splashed on some Mentholated Cherry Tobacco  aftershave and the frigid temps were back on my face…..Brrrrr. And to finish it all off I put on some QCS Iced Key Lime balm……Wow, felt like I had frostbite….only kidding. It did feel like I was walking in a cold wind though. Really, really enjoyable way to start the week and wake up feeling refreshed!

sotdmay10-2

Nothing stood out in the shave as everything worked perfectly. The Polsilver blades are very good blades and quickly becoming a personal favorite. They work so well in my OC’s which I seem to be using daily for the most part. They are a great combination of sharpness and smoothness,

The cherry tobacco splash worked very well with the lime soap and balm.  My face feels fantastic post shave and not sticky or oily in the least.

Now I also had a great shave on Saturday night with one tiny exception…..

sotdmay9

Razor : Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap : LA Shaving Soap(LASS) Company – CCXIII

Brush : Plisson Synthetic

Toner : Thayer’s Witch Hazel Aftershave

Aftershave : The Bluebeard’s Revenge Aftershave Balm

To be honest this was an awesome shave. The soap lathered very well and supplied great cushion and slickness as well as a great post shave feel, It is a vegan soap, and the second I have used this past week with great results. No tallow, No problem. This was my first use of the CCXIII soap and also my first time using anything from LASS. Very good quality product, I would even say top notch. I had forgotten it was mentholated when I started using it, so when I felt the little kick I taken a back a little bit. The menthol in this soap is a at great level, higher than Proraso Green(to me) but less than Vostok or Iced Key Lime. Meaning it would be a soap you could use all year round in my opinion.

The Plisson loaded up easy and face lathered the soap into a great lather in seconds. One thing about synthetics is that they sure do whip up lather in a hurry.

The vegan artisanal soap out now is awesome. I think you would be pretty hard pressed to find many differences between tallow and non tallow soaps when it comes to the top artisans. This is a good thing as I know some artisans offer both tallow and non-tallow versions of their soaps. I for one am not picky.

The razor and blade combo for this shave was awesome! Not sure if there is a better combo in my arsenal to be honest. If I ever save up a bit of coin I will be getting this razor replated. I’m not in any rush though as it still looks pretty darn nice for an 80+ year old razor.

I put on some Bluebeard’s Revenge Balm after my shave. This stuff is great and I am not sure why I don’t use it more often. The cologne scent is fantastic and it really soothes and hydrates the skin. It can feel a tiny bit sticky when applying but within moments that is gone….not minutes, moments.

Oh, right I said there was a tiny exception to my great shave. That exception is the scent of this soap. It truly doesn’t do anything for me. This sucks because the soap is as good as anything out there. The scent strength is great, it’s just the actual scent I don’t like. The description on the site describes the scent as follows….

Beginning with a full bottle of cabernet, we blend a variety of vegetable oils (stearic acid, coconut oil, cocoa butter, and avocado oil), add a healthy dollop of vegetable glycerin and menthol, and scent it with sea buckthorn, rose, lime, bergamot, clary sage, orange, vanilla, jasmine, petitgrain lemon and geranium, for a wonderful almost menthol sangria scent, that makes for a rich and cooling shave.”

To me I get a lot of the cabernet, with hints of the sea buckthorn and clary sage. To my nose the vanilla, rose and citrus scents get lost in the string cabernet. I would say the description is pretty close though. I am not a huge wine fan, which probably is part of the reason I am not a fan of this scent.

This will be posted for trade or buy soon on one of the groups along with another soap with a scent I didn’t enjoy. That is three soaps in the last month with scents I really didn’t enjoy. All great performers though. Maybe I am just being a lot more picky having so many soaps to choose from that I won’t keep a soap I don’t love in my den. Also, I would rather someone use the soap than sit in a tote not getting any use at all.

All in all a couple great shaves the past couple days, and I am starting the work off on right foot!!! Hope everyone has a great Monday and some great shaves this week!!

2 comments

  1. Cap7597 · May 11, 2015

    Just recently discovered the Pol-Silvers. Great blade!!!!
    The Key Lime Ice sounds interesting.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 11, 2015

      Thanks!!! The Polsilver SI’s are fantastic and pretty highly regarded….havent seen many negative reviews if any.
      The Iced Key Lime is AWESOME!!! Cold and wonderful scent!

      Like

Leave a Reply

