Tobacco Tuesday!!!!

We wet shavers are a funny bunch. Some of us treat our shave routine like a ritual, some just grab and go with little to no planning. Some of us are night shavers, some of us shave in the morning. There are some of us who shave in the shower and others who shave right after getting out of the shower. We are all different in what we do when it comes to shaving. Sometimes it even changes from day to day or week to week what I do. One thing is almost a certainly though………..

TOBACCO TUESDAY!!

20150504_233242

Most of the  days of the week have some shave related theme…In fact I am sure they all do. Menthol Monday, Tobacco(or Tabac) Tuesday, Clubman Friday just to name a few. My favorite since I got Tabac a year ago has been Tobacco Tuesday. Not that I need an excuse to use a Tobacco scented soap, but it narrows the guess work for at least one day of the week. Sure I love Menthol Monday. But I simply love the aroma of Tobacco…..and I don’t even smoke a cigar or pipe or anything of the sort. Maybe its the perceived masculinity I find in tobacco scents that I love. Whatever it is I look forward to Tuesdays. Now that I have the Havana aftershave balm its always a double dose of Tobacco!!! I do own a couple of tobacco fragrances as well, but I cannot wear scents to my workplace as I work in a hospital. So there is no TRIFECTA on Tuesdays unless I put on a frag after work.

Whats your favorite shaving day or month??

Time for the Shave of the Day!

20150504_232738

Razor : Gillette Milord

Blade : Personna Med Prep

Soap : Razorock Tobacco #1

Brush : Plisson Synthetic

Toner : Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Aftershave : The Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm + Huggy Bear Maple Bay Rum

Today was one of those shaves when everything came together forming a perfect storm of awesomeness. Razor, Blade, Brush, soap, aftershave, you name it, it was awesome!

Im going to start with the brush. Yes, that’s a Plisson Synthetic. I haven’t used it in 11 weeks according to my instagram feed. I decided to give it another shot after reading some posts  about synths and how people love or hate the Plisson. For myself I was in the dislike camp for a while. However, after not using it for a few months and using it today I really did enjoy it. You have to take it for what it is and not focus on the negatives(personal dislikes). This brush is just crazy soft and feels like you are just wiping something softer than puppy fur on your face. Also it whips up lather as well as just about any brush I own. No backbone….no problem. I realize that you don’t buy a synth for backbone. If you do….your gonna have a bad time. Even my Muhle which has a bit more backbone still doesn’t have a great deal. I will be using the Plisson more often than every three months from now on.

The soap. I for one am a big fan of Razorock. It works super well for me. I enjoy the scents, and the value for your money is fantastic in my opinion. The Tobacco #1 is my top performing RR soap. Yes, it surpasses Zi’Peppino….and that hurts me to say. Scent wise I really like this stuff. It is a floral tobacco to my nose. Similar to Tabac, yet less polarizing and powdery. It is still a tad powdery, but to a much lesser extent. This stuff lathers awesome for me and provides a great lather. The best part of this soap is the Argan Oil formula…..I have gone on about this before but I find the post shave of the Argan Oil soaps much better than the rest.

The Razor. The Gillette Milord. Ain’t she a looker? This is a razor I am super proud to have brought back to life along with its case. She shines like a golden ray of sunshine and looks like something royalty would use. This has NOT been replated, but sure looks like it. It is a mild shaver for sure. Load it with a Personna Med Prep and this razor kicks it up a notch. Super sharp blades with mild razors are fantastic and this is no exception. I was a huge fan of Med Preps in the past until I put one in a more aggressive razor and had a rough shave. The Med Prep is definitely a blade that you have to chose its partner carefully in my opinion. This combo sliced through whiskers like a hot knife through butter!!

PhotoArt_05052015074753(1)

I finished the shave with a quick splash of Thayer’s rose then Havana aftershave Balm, which is just awesome with any tobacco scent. Such a wonderful light tobacco scent with hints of vanilla and cacao as well as a hint of menthol. I also splashed on some Huggy Bear Maple Bay Rum. Love this stuff as well. Strong scent in the bottle and it just blossoms into a wicked scent once applied. Great news is that you can try samples of the Maple Bay Rum for $5 if you are Canadian….not sure for USA. Comment or message me if you are interested. The Havana and Maple Bay Rum mingled beautifully together and finished of an amazing shave with an intoxicating scent.

What can I say? BBS and smelling awesome…..is there a better way to start the day(that isnt X-rated)? My skin feels incredible today…maybe the best it has ever felt?

Shave away my friends!!! Share the blog if you enjoy it!! I am so grateful for all my followers and readers and love the comments and interacting with each and every single one of you!

4 comments

  1. Cap7597 · May 5, 2015

    My Tuesdays are Fat! MWFat that is. And look forward to it every week. Learned a lesson today with it. It wasn’t as slick as usual. So had to add a little water to the lather after first pass. First time I’ve had a problem with that using MWF. But you know how finicky it can be. I was probably holding my mouth wrong.

    So which is your favorite? Tobacco #1 or #2? I say 2, until I use one and and then I say 1. Haha. Still can’t decide. Such awesome soaps. I use them on Razosabato – Razorock Saturdays. 🙂

    Millard is a beauty. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 5, 2015

      I am a tobacco #1 fan. I traded away #2 actually….I did enjoy it as well though.
      Ah yes, razorsabato!!! I forgot about that one….there are many.
      Again thanks for your kind words!

      Like

  2. mickeyobe · May 28, 2015

    Excellent review.

    Now, how about a Musk Monday.
    Musk, my favourite scent.
    Monday is one of my seven favourite days.

    Mickey

    Like

Leave a Reply

