NOW Spring has Sprung

After a false alarm a couple of weeks back it would appear that Spring has finally made it here to the East Coast. I for one couldn’t be happier. After an absolutely terrible winter I am embracing the warmth with open arms…..and no winter jacket. This spring I have so many more seasonal soaps then last year when I started to wet shave. Spring to me is bright scents and especially CITRUS. While up until the past week I would have to say Lime scents were my pick of citrus, a New scent has taken over my den I couldn’t be happier!

The wonderful scents of Lime, Lemon, Orange and Grapefruit are starting to take over!

The wonderful scents of Lime, Lemon, Orange and Grapefruit are starting to take over!

Now, don’t get me wrong. I still love my lime scents and will be using them regularly, but the new kid is GRAPEFRUIT!! Ever since I can remember I have loved grapefruit. The taste, the scent, the whole experience of cutting it open and either spooning it out or eating it in slices. The smell of tart grapefruit would cling to your hands and I loved it. For me, the more tart the better, for some the ruby red sweet grapefruit is more their speed.

Low and behold three mail calls last week. One early in the week and a couple on Friday after work. Barrister and Mann’s Ferox was in the first mail call, While a sample from First Canadian Soap Company was the second. Also in the second mail call from Friday was Elvado Wild Mint Lime Shaving Soap and the matching Wild Mint Lime aftershave balm. I will talk more about the Elvado Products tomorrow so look out for that!

Now onto my SOTDs

SATURDAY NIGHT SHAVE!!!

20150502_222821

Razor : 1934 Gillette Aristocrat TTO OC

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap : Barrister and Mann Ferox

Brush : Italian Barber Semogue LE

Toner : Thayer’s Lemon

This was my first use of FEROX. I will say this, I love this soap! Yes, you get the typical B&M performance, but also and awesome Grapefruit scent as well. This is the grapefruit scent you get when you cut into a fresh grapefruit and the zest spritzes up into the air. A fantastic tart scent that really is energizing and bright. This is a seasonal scent with ‘FEROX’ meaning Fierce in Latin. According to B&M there are also sage, thyme, tea tree and vetiver in the notes. Whatever is in there it may be my favorite scent….it sure is at the moment.

The 34′ aristocrat loaded with a Polsilver is about as good as it gets for me. I shaved at about 8:30pm and was still BBS the next morning 12 hours later. I finished the shave with Thayer’s Lemon witch hazel. I can say with certainty that you will be seeing this combo a lot over the next month or two because it’s that good.

Monday Morning CANADIAN SOTD!

PhotoArt_05042015093552

Razor : Canadian Gillette Old Type OC

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap : First Canadian Shave Soap Company – Esther’s Peppermint and grapefruit

Brush : Zenshave/HTGAM Canadian LE

Aftershave : Elvado Wild Mint Lime aftershave Balm

OH CANADA, our home and native land…….I digress. This morning I proudly used all Canadian made hardware and software except for the razor blades. The result was an awesome DFS shave.

The Old Type is a great old razor from the early 1920’s. That’s right is 90 something years old and this particular one still looks amazing. When I got it for like $3 at an antique store it did not look this good. It was covered in dark grime and looked atrocious, but I figured for $3 it was wroth trying to restore. Low and behold with a bit of elbow grease this baby really shines now! While it isn’t my top shaving OC it is still a wonderful efficient razor.

The Peppermint and Grapefruit soap smells great. This is more of a sweet grapefruit scent. Maybe its the peppermint that sweetens it but this soap reminds me of a glass of Ruby Red Grapefruit juice. Nice and sweet and unmistakably grapefruit. I don’t pick up much peppermint, which I am kind of happy about because this scent is really nice and probably more inviting to people than the B & M Ferox. Myself I prefer the Ferox, but this is an awesome second choice for a grapefruit scented soap.

Oh, you probably are wondering about performance. I know this sounds like a broken record but this is another great artisan soap. I love that its Canadian and I love that it is made in my home province of Ontario. Brian was nice enough to send me a sample to try out. This is his newest formula. My first pass I had a bit too much water in my brush and my lather wasn’t ideal. However, my second and third passes had an awesome lather. Thick and rich lather, and nice protection. The lather wasn’t all for show, it was effective and the scent really came out when lathered. I was really impressed by the post shave of this stuff. Probably the lanolin or the silk…..whatever it was my face sure enjoyed it. I would put this soap after one use up with Maggards, Jeeves of Hudson Street, and Maria Arman soaps. Nice and soft. Easy to load and produces a great lather. A couple of people liked the previous formula, but more have prefered the new formula. Either way this is a great soap. And if you are a fellow Canuck it’s a nice way to shop local and support Canadian Artisans.

Here is a link to Brian’s Etsy shop – First Canadian Shave Soap

The Zenshave brush was made in Ontario as well. Needless to say its awesome and I love the knot in this brush. gel tipped and pillowy soft. Always a pleasure.

The Elvado Wild Mint Lime Aftershave Balm got its first use as well. Also made in Ontario! This is some really nice stuff. A wonderful lime scent and it absorbs nice and quickly leaving your face nicely nourished. I found it paired very nicely with the soap and cannot wait to use it with the matching Elvado Wild Mint Lime soap later this week. This stuff is Bio-Pure Vegan and organic. All fragrance used are natural essential oils. Nothing synthetic or artificial makes up these scents. This is also a great thing for many shavers.

So I am a Happy Chappy. 2 new grapefruit scents the smell great and very different, yet both perform very well and will be put to great use in the coming months!

Cheers and here’s to another week of great shaves!

4 comments

  1. Cap7597 · May 4, 2015

    Great post. I just recently received the Castle Forbes Lime…. Amazing scent. I don’t have a grapefruit yet. I had TOBS on my list for the summer, but that B&M sounds good. How do they compare?
    The ’34 is a beautiful razor. One that I would love to own.
    Great post. Keep it up.
    Rodney

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 4, 2015

      I’ve never tried the TOBs great fruits but I have heard its nice. Slightly synthetic though, but worth a try. The Ferox is awesome, but I am admittedly a B & M fanboy

      Like

  2. Robert Carey · May 4, 2015

    Awesome! I love seeing my brushes pop up in my newsfeeds! Glad to see it’s out there being enjoyed!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 4, 2015

      Ha! Glad you saw it!! Such an awesome brush, and the knot is incredible!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

