All hail the Gillette NEW!!

While slants may be popular, and solid bars the norm, open combs are definitely my choice of wetshaving weaponry. I have used a few slants and they were good shavers, efficient but after the first few shaves I found the novelty wore off they didn’t shave any better than solid bars for me. I now own 4 open combs and definitely find them to be he most efficient shavers I own and always produce a wonderful shave.

20150501_065446

The Gillette NEW

While I would say the 1934 Aristocrat is my favorite razor it is kind of hard to recommend everyone go out and get one. They can be hard to find and often pricey when you do find them. The razor I would recommend everyone try is a Gillette NEW. They are fairly readily available and are often priced really low for that reason. The new that I have has had the top cap replated which is why it is sooo shiny.

I think a common misconception about Open Comb razors is that they are aggressive. This is what I thought as well before I had tried one. However that is not the case. The teeth can look intimidating but the blade gap isn’t much bigger, if at all, than most solid bar razors. Sure there are beasts like the Muhle R41 which is very aggressive, but if mastered provides amazing shaves according to those who use it. What these open combs do offer is great efficiency though. I always look forward to using them when they come up in rotation because I can count on a great shave.

20150501_065339

Pictured above is my Cased Gillette New and iKon Bulldog stainless steel handle. 90% of the time I put the New head on the iKon handle as it adds a fair amount of weight to the razor. It also provides a balance I like and its very easy to allow the razor to do the work rather than adding pressure when using a heavier razor. I use this handle with all my different razor heads for the same reason. A stainless handle is definitely a great investment.

Now I did have a great shave today. A shave that I am not allowed to share with everyone unfortunately as I am testing some pre-production software. I have been sworn to secrecy, and feel truly blessed to have this opportunity. I will also be allowed to reveal the brand when this product will be released.

What I used for Todays shave!!!!

Razor : Gillette New

Blade : Polsilver SI

Soap/Cream : ?????? TOP SECRECT ??????

Brush : Muhle STF V2 synthetic

Toner : Thayer’s Lemon

censored

For a pre-production product this stuff is fantastic. One thing I can say as it is shaving cream. Now I don’t use a lot of creams as I am for the most part a soap guy. I have used TOBS Eton College, Truefitt and Hill 1805, luxury, and West Indian Limes, as well as Bluebeards Revenge cream. All of these creams are great. So I know what a good cream is and have some stuff to compare with.

The scent of this stuff is so relaxing. The scent itself I would give an 8-9 out of ten. Just smelling the tub brings on a zen-like feeling. Not an overpowering scent and probably around a 3-4 on scent strength….However, if it was a strong scent I think it wouldn’t be as subtle and relaxing as it is. I used my Muhle synthetic and barely used any product and got lots of thick rich lather when I lathered it in a bowl. Plenty enough for 3 passes and probably enough for 4 to 5 passes. The lather stayed hydrated for the duration of my shave as well. This made me happy as this was an issue with some creams I had tried in the past when I bowl lathered.

Great rich creamy lather with very nice protection. It was not the slickest cream, but I haven’t found creams in general to be as slick as soaps. probably a 6-7 out of 10 on slickness. To be fair I didn’t try adding to much lather upon my first use either. I am sure now that I could have added a bit more and increased the slickness.

last thing about the cream is it does have a nice post shave feel. Not as good as Haslinger, but above average to me.

I feel this is going to be a great cream when put into production. Something I will add to my rotation.

With warmer weather comes an increased usage of citrus scents. For me this means a lot more usage of Thayer’s Lemon Witch Hazel. This stuff smells awesome and works wonderfully. It tightens and tones your skin leaving it feeling soft and nourished. I can say with 100% certainty that my shaves are way better since I started using witch hazel. I have heard that some of the no name brand witch hazel and other brands don’t smell very good. I can tell you that Thayer’s Witch Hazels smell very pleasant. From rose, to Cucumber, to Lemon, and the Medicated superhazel the scents are not offensive at all. Plus the scents fade very fast so the don’t affect your balms or aftershaves! Add in the fact they contain allow which is great for healing and its a winner in my book. It relieves irritation and redness after poor shaves and I used it every single day.

Thayer's Lemon Witch Hazel

Thayer’s Lemon Witch Hazel

Overall a extremely pleasant shave with a product that I am excited about. BBS with ease from the NEW and Polsiver blade.

Have an awesome weekend and keep it BBS!!!

2 comments

  1. Cap7597 · May 2, 2015

    Great post!
    I too have found out about the gloious Gillette New!
    My skin is sensitive and have struggled to use an OC. So I have been hanging on to the heavy tech as my go to razor. Until I picked up a New LC at an antique store. The gap is almost the same as the heavy tech. But a lot more efficient. I got a short comb and like it even better.
    Which do you prefer, Long or Short Comb.

    Keep up the good work!
    Rodney

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 2, 2015

      I haven’t tried a short comb. I have used an old type, Sheraton, 34′ aristocrat….but no sc yet. I have my eye out though

      Like

Leave a Reply

