WetTubers and our Shaving Community

The Wetshaving community is great for so many reasons. You can be wealthy or on a budget and still be accepted by everyone. Not only that you can just as good of a shave from a $50 set up as a $600 set up. The wet shaving community so so generous as well. I have received numerous PIFs(pay it forward) and also given away just as many PIFs as well as given stuff to friends and family who show interest. Also, there are not many other hobbies where you get a chance to interact with the artisans and people who make the gear you use on a daily basis.

Not only are the members of our community generous with their hardware and software but they are also generous with their time. One thing that was absolutely paramount in my own learning curve was Youtube and the videos available to help teach shavers good technique. If I could recommend 2 guys to watch to help teach technique and just general wet shaving knowledge I would have to put Mantic59 and GeoFatboy at the front of the line. These guys may be considered the original ‘wet tubers’ and still put out great material and are well respected in the community. Mantic59’s video on advanced techniques is a must watch for all wet shavers in my opinion. This video can take your shaves from good to great with ease!!! Here is a link – Advanced Shaving Techniques . Take note that this video was uploaded in 2006 and is just as relevant today as it was then. It also has close to 575 thousand views.

GeoFatboy himself

GeoFatboy from shave nation

Mantic!!

Mantic59!!

Mantic59 and GeoFatboy are far from the only wet shavers on Youtube. There are probably hundreds of guys and girls who are putting out original content from soap reviews to razor reviews and everything in between. A few of the people I watch regularly are Swivet , David Gonzalez who is now joined by his wife Rocio, Nick Shaves, and Con from Shave the Man.  I like each for different reasons. Swivet seems to enjoy many of the same soaps as I do and reviews each in a concise way. David and his wife are just super honest and humble people. The addition of Rocio to the videos is really entertaining as the back and forth banter is something that other channels lack. Also hopefully the addition of Rocio to Davids channel can get some more women interested in wetshaving. Nick Shaves is just a great reviewer. He is methodical and reviews each soap the same way. There is a reason he has so many subscribers and a lot of guys look to his reviews before purchasing soaps. Con from Shave the Man has exceptional video quality. I’m not sure if he has a hollywood producer or what, but they are a joy to watch and are very to the point and Con has an enjoyable charisma!

My favorite person to watch is easily Chris Bailey…..The Shaving Evangelist(TSE) as he is also known. He puts out a lot of content that has validity and substance. He doesn’t mince his words and has a passion that is easy to see in his videos. Not to mention what he does for our community, whether it is bringing light to certain artisans or bloggers etc. He is a must watch and must subscribe for me. The Shaving Evangelists channel if you keep a close eye you will also see cameo appearances from Leroy Jenkins!!

TSE, The Shaving Evangelist, CDB, Christopher David Bailey....he goes by many names ;)

TSE, The Shaving Evangelist, CDB, Christopher David Bailey….he goes by many names 😉

Peter Charkalis from Shaving with Charky is a wet shaver I have just recently started following. He is active on the forums and groups and I just hadn’t seen his videos for some reason until the past month or two. This guy has an obvious passion for wet shaving. Again, he doesn’t mince his words and gets excited about new stuff like the rest of us….he just puts it on Youtube for us all to see. He loves Tobacco scents as I do so that puts him near the top of my list. He is just fun to watch, its that simple. He seems like a guy you would want to go out and have a beer with and has lots of charisma. He may also use the odd expletive in his vids!

Peter Charkalis

Peter Charkalis

The last person I want to mention is Tiffany Pisarcik. Her Channel called Ritual Shave is possibly the perfect bridge to get your wife or girlfriend/significant other interested in wet shaving. Tiffany has a great calming voice and her videos are set in some great locations. Seriously she shaves right in from of the Pacific Ocean – video here !!! It’s great to see the ‘Razor Queen’ still making videos!!

The Razor Queen

The Razor Queen

I realize there are lots of other shavers that make great videos, and I know I missed a couple of my favorites. These are just some shavers that I think are worth the watch whether you are a new shaver or have been doing it for years!!!

Now onto today’s shave!!!

sotdapr28-1

Razor : Gillette Fatboy

Blade : Feather

Soap : Soapy Bathman – Cigar Lounge

Brush : Zenshave/HTGAM Canadian LE

Toner : Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Bay Rum #28 + Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm

This was a nice she that also brought me to a sad realization. The Cigar Lounge soap I had originally stated didn’t have a tobacco scent to my nose. Well, since that post I have test lathered it and bloomed it a couple of times. Now the tobacco is coming through nicely. This scent is really awesome and Cigar Lounge perfectly depicts the scent. Imagine a gent wearing a nice cologne having just smoked a cigar. this is the scent that would linger in the air to my nose. Its almost like a TOBS Eton College with a nice tobacco scent. It truly is a great scent for any tobacco scent lovers, and I see why there has been a lot of talk about this soap. I realize now that the performance issues I thought I had before were not the case. I always got nice lathers from Soapy Bathman and DFS – BBS shaves. I just could never figure out why I didn’t seem to get the performance that people love about this soap. Turns out there is NOTHING wrong with this soaps performance at all…..there is something wrong with me…..well, kinda. It wasn’t the water, it wasn’t the brush, it wasn’t the loading time or anything that I thought may have been my issue. A few guys had messaged me with suggestions that I had tried as well and I thank them for that. The issue is actually with my body chemistry. There is something in Soapy Bathman soaps that cause just the slightest irritation to my skin. Like a tiny little tingle. I had previously just though it was lack of protection and irritation caused by that. THAT IS NOT THE CASE. These soaps perform with the best of them and I want to apologize for anything I said previously that may have been taken as a negative about Chris’ soaps. I have had this issue with other soaps, but with far more irritation and that is what threw me off. This really sucks because Chris Erskine the man behind Soapy Bathman is not only Canadian but also a friend of mine and a guy who is very involved in the community.

The Fatboy with a feather worked very well. Set it at 5 and had a great comfortable shave. The result a damn near BBS shave. Finished with Barberry Coast Bay Rum and Havana. The Havana works so well with this soap as it does with all Tobacco scents. And the Bay Rum….well, its awesome. I guess I am a Bay Rum guy now.

So as great as the shave was it sucks to have a soap that you cannot use. Ive had this a few times and it always seems to happen with scents that I am a huge fan of like Synergy Pumpkin 3.14 and also P.160. So I have mixed emotions about this shave.

Have a great day everyone and great shaves as well.

Who are your favorite shavers on Youtube? Post in the comments!

6 comments

  1. mickeyobe · May 7, 2015

    I agree that Geofatboy and Mantic are excellent. I have learned much from them and from other knowledgeable internet instructors.

    Now, please explain where I may view those potatoes soaking in water.

    Mickey

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · May 7, 2015

      Potatoes soaking in water????
      Glad you agree on Geo and Mantic 2 of the best in the biz

      Like

      • mickeyobe · May 8, 2015

        Wet Tubers.

        tuber |ˈt(y)o͞obər|
        noun
        1 a much thickened underground part of a stem or rhizome, e.g., in the potato, serving as a food reserve and bearing buds from which new plants arise.

        Mickey

        Liked by 1 person

      • Froogle_Jimmy · May 8, 2015

        Lol. Gotcha! Didn’t even occur to me the name of the post. Well played!!!

        Like

  2. mickeyobe · May 8, 2015

    I am disappointed.
    I thought I was going to learn how to peel a potato with a double edged razor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

