Its not all about shaving!

Sometimes shaving takes a backseat to other things going on in my life. Yesterday was definitely one of those days….even though I did manage to acquire some shaving stuff! My day started out with a great shave with QCS Vostok and remembering that 5 years ago I had ran the Boston Marathon. The Marathon seemed like such a distant memory  for me this year. I had hip surgery in October to shave some bone away from my femoral to minimize impingement in the joint. So needless to say I have been rehabing since October and running any distance was a distant memory to say the least.

Last Race September 29th, 2013

Last Race September 29th, 2013

The fact that I had orthopedic appointments with both my physio and surgeon yesterday had me somewhat down. I knew I was going to ask if I could run again….being prepared for the worst outcome, but holding out hope for a good one. My physio appointment went amazingly and I have most of my strength back. Not 100% of it, but getting there. Six months ago I wouldn’t have been able to raise my leg without picking it up with my hands. This brightened my day. In between appointments my wife and I went out for lunch and did a bit of retail therapy buying stuff for our house……this made me feel pretty good to.

We made our way to the hospital where I had waited 3 hours to see the doctor last time. In less than an hour I was in his office having my check-up. They checked my strength again and he was very happy. I asked if I could start riding my road bike and he said of course!! Now I was really happy but had to ask about running. His answer shocked me. He said that if it is something I am passionate about then I could. OHHH YAAAA. I can slowly start running again!

Yes, I was a very happy guy. Words couldn’t describe how happy I was to be honest. We stopped at the Superstore and I got a new lather bowl. We then stopped at Marshall’s for the first time and I found a bottle of Grey Flannel for only $11…..what a steal! An awesome way to finish my day in the city after some ortho appointments. I am happy than I was yesterday and then I have been for a while….not that I wasn’t happy. I m just happier…..you know what I am saying!

Now onto today’s shave!!!

sotdapr21

Razor : EJ DE89 head / iKon Bulldog handle

Blade : Gillette 7 O’Clock Black

Soap : Haslinger Schafmilch

Brush : Wolf Whiskers ‘ WHALER ‘

Toner : Thayer’s Cucumber Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Nivea Soft

Fragrance : Grey Flannel by Geoffrey Beene

After such great news yesterday I had to make sure I was going to have an awesome shave today. I actually bowl lathered today. The Haslinger made enough for 7 passes after loading for about 15 seconds…..the stuff is unreal. Everything performed as expected. Just an amazing shave.

The one different thing in the shave was the new Frag. Grey Flannel is an older fragrance from 1975 originally(approx) and I bought it blind….$11. Worth the risk. Turns out I kinda like it. Not amazing but the scent reminds me of my poppa….maybe he wore this stuff. I will have to ask my mom. This stuff definitely conjures up great memories of playing pool with my poppa. Soapy, clean and kind of like LaToja and Schafmilch in scent….if that makes sense.

Cheers Everyone!!!!!

One comment

  1. cinqueminutiperte · April 21, 2015

    Reblogged this on Red3ain – cinqueminutiperte.

    Like

Leave a Reply

