Last night was a first for me. I decided to let my 3 year old son pick which shaving soap I would use in the morning along with the brush of his choice. What did he choose?? You may be surprised…..

 

I put out soaps 6 soaps for him to choose from. All of which are top performers for me and scents I really enjoy…..The Soapy Bathman being the one exception as I just received it 2 days ago and haven’t test lathered it or anything yet.

1) Barrister and Mann – Nocturne

2) Strop Shoppe – London Morning

3) Soapy Bathman – Cigar Lounge

4) Haslinger – Schafmilch

5) Synergy/HTGAM – Cavendish……now PAA

6) Stirling – Margaritas in the Arctic

His choice was CIGAR LOUNGE. He said it smelled good and I think he enjoyed the label as well to be honest. I also let him choose any one of my brushes for me to use…..Well, he picked the Oscar11 Omega boar brush. Not all that surprised as the handle is freakin’ cool.

The shave itself……

 sotdapr17-2

Razor : Ej DE89 Head/ iKon Bulldog Handle

Blade : Gillette 7 O’Clock Black

Soap :  Soapy Bathman – Cigar Lounge

Brush : Oscar11 Custom Boar with Omega Knot

Toner :  Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Blam + Huggy Bears  Maple Bay Rum

Got a wonderful DFS shave. I’m really enjoying the scent of the Cigar Lounge even though I don’t detect any tobacco….but that could just be my nose picking up the cologne more strongly or the light bergamot scent. The soap performed well and just started to dissipate a bit by the third pass…probably should have loaded the brush a bit longer.

To finish off my shave I went to my current GO TO combo of Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm and Huggy’s Maple Bay Rum. *Note that I also use the Barberry Coast Bay Rum with the Havana. This combo has my face feeling awesome and smelling great.

I was chatting with a few guys on Facebook about this scent and they found it hard to believe my nose couldn’t pick up Tobacco…..I admit its strange especially because I love tobacco scented soaps.  The great part is that it is still a really great smelling soap from a great Canadian artisan who is very active in the shave community.

Cheers and have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

