Shaving Meet-Up!

Yesterday night was one of the first time I was able to chat with a group of fellow wet shavers in person. It was an awesome experience that I think all whom were involve want to do again….sooner than later I hope!!!

 

A group of 5 of us from Nova Scotia(mostly Halifax area) met up in Halifax at The Grindhouse HFX studio. My friend Josh was kind enough to offer up his space for the meet up. I wasn’t sure what to bring or what to expect to be honest. I had never done a meet up, but I was very excited. I have only talked to one fellow wet shaver in person and that was AWESOME.

Needless to say it was a fantastic night. Talking shaving, guns, motorcycles, and even tea. I brought a few soaps, a bunch of samples of Thayer’s witch hazel, and some of my favorite razors. Daniel brought his entire bathroom I think 😉 Ian brought a few razors and it was Josh’s place so he had all his straights and gear on hand. Rob brought a couple straights and snapped a bunch of pics that I am looking forward to seeing. Yes, a couple of beers were drunk and curse words spoken as well.

It was cool to smell soaps that I have read about and heard too much about. I loved seeing a couple of guys react to TABAC for the first time……all positive comments about Tabac so I sliced some chunks of my Tabac stick so guys could try it. Someone said ‘it smells like my Grandpa’! I had to laugh, but yeah it does have that scent. I was impressed by the scent of Cella and will be adding that to my order when I make another soap purchase. I got to smell Osage Rub, Lucky Tiger post shave, and Clubman as well. The lucky Tiger smelled super highly mentholated but didnt feel as cold as the scent would lead you to believe.

I ended up leaving with a couple samples of Ogallala Bay Rum soap, and a local shave soap. I really loved giving out samples of Razorock XXX, Catie’s Bubbles Boucles Fruite, Tabac, and Soapy Bathman Lumberjack as well as the Thayer’s Witch Hazel.

I love the fact the everyone is just so open to sharing what they have and helping guys out. Products were flying around like you wouldn’t believe and info was being shared at an equally alarming rate.

I am so glad I got a chance to meet these guys and cannot wait until the next time we meet up. hopefully there will be a few more guy or gals joining us at our next meetup.

I did a shave this morning as well…………………..

Razor : Gillette New LC

Blade : Personna Med Prep

Soap : Brutalt Barbersape

Brush : Muhle STF

Toner : Thayer’s Cucumber

Aftershave : Nivea Soft + Barberry Coast Bay Rum

Just an overall fantastic shave. The soap is just killer. It really blows me away every time I use it. An awesome DFS was achieved with the New and Med prep combo. And as always the Bay Rum smells fantastic!!

 

 

In closing, if you have a chance to go to a meetup it is amazing. Sure its nice to go to brick and mortar shops, but hanging out with a bunch of fellow wet shavers is just a blast.

Thanks again to the guys who were there. I look forward to hearing how the samples worked out for everyone.

 

Cheers

4 comments

  1. Robert Watt · April 15, 2015

    Hey, it was great meeting you last night. I posted a few of the pics I took on FB, and will be giving a whole pile of hi-res ones to Josh

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · April 15, 2015

      Likewise. Awesome to meet you!! Can’t wait to see some pics!!

      Like

  2. Andy · April 16, 2015

    I’ll be doing the Toronto meet-up on May 3rd at Men Essentials. Really looking forward to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · April 16, 2015

      I am sure it will be a blast. I wish I had of brought more sample containers and zip lock bags with me to ours as we were giving stuff away like crazy…..and a sharpie!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

