Not all almond is created equal

Almond scents are very prevalent in wet shaving. So is the use of almond oil. Unfortunately it seems that almond is the reason for a number of shavers reactions to certain soaps. Today I used an almond soap for the second time and was worried that I may suffer the same fate as I had with other almond scented soaps.

Its funny. One of my first ever soaps was a sample of Stirling Almond Creme that was given to me by a great friend when I first started out. I loved this soap, had no reactions to it and it was just awesome. Scent wise it was great and it had the usual Stirling slickness and protection. At this point I loved almond soaps after trying this one. Next I got Razorock P.160. A strong almond Marzipan scent(somewhat synthetic smelling). It had good reviews, but a few people mentioned a reaction to it. I personally thought nothing of it and got it anyways. Well, low and behold upon applying this soap to my face I turned bright red. An immediate reaction to this stuff. Man was I disappointed. The performance was great on this soap. Yes, I finished my shave despite the obvious reaction. Then I got a puck of HTGAM Pumpkin 3.14….I love pumpkin pie and this soap has possibly my top Fall scent. Again I got an immediate reaction. Not quite as bad as the P.160 but enough to know I couldn’t use this soap again….but I did try a second time and got the same reaction. This all took place about 5-5 months ago, and since then I have been somewhat apprehensive of Almond and cinnamon scented soaps. About the time this reaction thing was happening I had gotten a sample of MdC and Boellis Panama 1924. I immediately used the MdC, but put the Boellis on hold because it was an almond soap. Fast forward to a week ago and I used the Boellis Panama 1924 after reading some fantastic reviews. I thought maybe I wouldn’t be allergic to it…..fingers crossed. Low and behold I got an awesome shave and ZERO reaction. I decided to use this soap again today just to make sure I wasn’t allergic to it…….

WHAT I USED (sorry no pics for a bit as my phone has bit the dust 😦 )

Razor : EJ DE89 Head / iKon Bulldog Handle

Blade : Gillette 7 O’Clock Black

Soap : Boellis Panama 1924

Brush : Wolf Whiskers Whaler!!!

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : Huggy Bear Maple Bay Rum

Well, the Boellis is an impressive soap. Yes it is very pricey, but may just be worth the price. I have read many reviews and the only negative I have read is the price. That being said it is $50 for 250g which is 8oz. So in actual fact it isn’t much more expensive than soaps like Barrister and Mann and CRSW etc when looking at price per ounce.

I love the mild almond scent. very natural smelling. The lather produced is wonderful and the post shave is really nice. So nice that today I just threw on my toner then aftershave without moisturizer and my face feels fantastic!!!!

I used the Maple Bay Rum again this morning. I absolutely love this stuff! Once it hits the skin it just envelops you with a warm spicy bay rum scent with a wonderful hint of maple….kind of a Canadian spin on Bay Rum. Perhaps it should be called ‘Hudson’s’ Bay Rum?!?!

Overall I got a great DFS shave with a bit of irritation on my neck in the usual spots. For the rest of the week I am going to pamper myself and just use my top performing soaps that always work well for me. Its time to start thinning out the den of soaps that don’t work well for me.

If you ever have a chance to try the Boellis Panama 1924 I highly recommend it, especially if you are an almond fan. This is a great option and I don’t think you will be disappointed in this classic Italian soap.

Cheers

2 comments

  1. Andy WC · April 14, 2015

    Glad to hear you were able to shave trouble free with the Boellis Soap. I’m curious if you have ever tried Cella Soap, which, I’m sure you know, is also an almond based soap. Maybe some almond soaps are milder and less artificial than others, which could be the apparent reason for the reaction. Thanks for your interesting Blog Scott!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · April 14, 2015

      I have not tried Cella…..and I really want to. Now that I have an almond soap under my belt without a reaction I will probably get a tub in the future as it is really highly rated stuff.
      Thanks Andy, Im glad you are enjoying my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

