Willing in Spring

Well, it is Spring according to my calendar. However, its Winter if you look outside my window. So what better way to will Spring to start than with a highly mentholated shave!!!!!

I absolutely love menthol in the warmer months and on occasion in the cooler ones as well. I know some guys add menthol crystals and stuff to their software, but I am not that guy. My three favorite MENTHOLATED SOAPS are Queen Charlotte Soaps Vostok, Stirling Margaritas in the Arctic(MITA), and Queen Charlotte Soaps Iced Key Lime! Today I went with QCS Iced Key Lime shave soap and the matching balm……she’s gonna be a cold one!

sotdapr8-1Razor : Gillette Black Beauty

Blade : Gillette 7 O’clock Black

Soap : QCS Iced Key Lime

Brush : Wolf Whiskers Custom – ‘WHALER’

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : QCS Iced Key Lime Aftershave Balm

I feel ALIVE!!! Sure fresh snow was on the ground this morning, but that couldn’t stop me from getting my MENTHOL fix. It has been a while since I used a highly mentholated soap. Our winter has been brutal both snow-wise and temperature wise. Everyday on my way to work I get a free face freeze courtesy of mother nature. NO MENTHOL NEEDED. I must digress though. The Iced Key Lime soap was as awesome as I remember. This stuff has a lot of menthol in it. I will compare it to a soap that most are familiar with: Proraso Green. The menthol in Proraso green would be like a poke in the cheek from a 2 year old girl. The Menthol in Iced Key Lime would be like a slap in the face from a Grizzly bear. Yeah, its pretty darn cold. And it’s not all menthol and no substance. This soap performs with the other top notch artisan soaps. Great slickness and cushion, and a pretty nice post shave. The topper was using the Iced Key Lime balm. This stuff is also highly mentholated and is like getting slapped on your already frost-bitten face!! I kid it is not painful unless you are really not a fan of menthol. I find it very invigorating to be honest. Using this stuff today is just making me want the warmer weather to arrive quicker.

The Black Beauty worked awesome with the 7 O’clock Blacks. I dialed the Black beauty down to 3 as my shave from yesterday was so good I didn’t have much stubble to eliminate. These blades are fantastic in my opinion and could easily become my daily blades……If I hadn’t just gotten 100 Rapira Swedes(which are great). Something about using the Black Beauty is comforting to me. It was my first antique store find and it reminds me of why I love this hobby. It’s also my top adjustable that I have used.

The WHALER brush was soft and produced a nice lather. I learned that I should ring out almost all the water when loading this brush as the knot tends to hold a ton of water. On a down note the knot is shedding a lot and I am not sure if The Golden Nib has a warranty or what I should do. I think this may just be a bad knot.

Overall a fantastic and invigorating shave! DFS and almost BBS besides my usual trouble spot on my neck…..but zero irritation, so I am very happy.

Whats your TOP MENTHOL SOAP???

2 comments

  1. Jason r · April 8, 2015

    I’ve been searching for a better kick than Proraso Green…hard to stomach the cash on an untried soap though. I’ll find one someday. Like you I love a menthol kick.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · April 8, 2015

      QCS IKL is realistic lime. Vostok is super cold almost a balsamic type scent. I love them both

      Like

Leave a Reply

