The Weekend that Was…and another first

The Easter weekend is usually signals Spring is here to stay. Well, not so much here. It was cold and it even snowed last night about 7-10cm. However I did manage 3 shaves in the past 5 days. Amongst those was a first for me in wet shaving!

I will start off by talking about this mornings shave at it was a very enjoyable one. I used my favorite razor and a soap that I really enjoy. I also used a blade that I used for the first time on Sunday that is fantastic. I like to start my week off with a great shave and use stuff that I know will produce a good shave. Snow may be falling still but a great shave puts me in a great mood to start the work week……THE SHAVE!

sotdapr7

Razor : 1934 Gillette Aristocrat

Blade : Gillette 7 O’clock Black

Brush : Semogue Owners Club

Soap : Razorock Tobacco #1

Toner : Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Aftershave : The Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm

As I mentioned earlier I used a great blade I used for the first time on Sunday. The Gillette 7 O’clock Blacks are a great blade. I had read that they were good and I have used the Yellows and liked them, so I wasn’t expecting to like these much more than the Yellows. Well, these are better than the yellows. if i rated the yellows 7-7.5 out of ten, the Blacks would be an 8.5-9 easy. They are sharp and smooth. Maybe not as sharp as the Feathers but more forgiving. I think these would be a great blade to go up to before using a feather.

The Aristocrat is my favorite razor in the looks department and probably overall as well. Over the last couple of shaves I think it may have even moved up to be my favorite shaver. For sure its in the top 3. Just awesome is all I can say. A 90 year old that outperforms every other razor I have used. there is a reason guys love Aristocrats and vintage Gillette in general. High quality, well made razors that have stood the test of time.

As for the soap it was awesome. Really love this argan oil formula. It lathers so easily, is slick and provides nice protection and decent post shave. Combined with the Havana Balm my face is feeling soft, smooth and hydrated. Not to mention smelling great as well!!

An awesome shave to start the week is exactly what I wanted and exactly what I got! A nice smooth comfortable BBS shave.



My Easter Sunday shave!

sotdapr4Razor : Edwin Jagger DE89 Head / iKon Bulldog Handle

Blade : Gillette 7 O’clock Black

Brush : Muhle STF V2 synthetic

Soap : Boellis Panama 1924

I tried 2 new things in this shave and was very, very happy with both. Like I mentioned in the previous shave I used the 7 O’clock blacks and really like them. Close and comfortable shave without any nicks, cuts, weepers or irritation. I also finally used the generous sample I received a while back from a friend named Rui on TSN.

I had put off using the Boellis Panama 1924 because I had a strong reaction to P.160 and a couple other soaps and was worried about the almond. however this soap caused zero reaction!! Sweet almond scent…fainter than P.160, but also in my opinion a more natural scent. Maybe a slight cherry scent as well. But the scent is NOT the main focus of this soap. Its performance takes that honor. Yowza! This stuff loaded up extremely easily and that lather it produced was amazing! I would say it is better than the MdC sample I tried…..and I really like MdC. This stuff is slick and has AWESOME protection and post shave. I still have a few shaves left of the sample and think it may pass Haslinger as my top soap. It is very similar in all aspects to the Haslinger Schafmilch except the scent. I enjoy the scent of the Boellis Panama 1924 quite a bit more as I am a fan of the classic Italian almond scent. I am looking forward to using this soap again this week and making sure it’s as good as I think it is.

Overall I got an awesome irritation free shave. Not quite BBS as I couldn’t get my one trouble spot on my neck perfectly. An easy DFS shave and 97% BBS.



Good Friday = Bad Shave

sotdapr3Razor : Gillette Fatboy

Blade : Rapira Swedish Supersteel

Soap : The Strop Shoppe – London Morning

Brush : Oscar11 w/ Omega Boar Knot

Toner : Thayer’s Aftershave Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Nivea Soft

Well, Thursdays shave was less than good as well so I wanted to use some stuff that I really like and have had good results with to make up for the previous poor shave. The soap lathered well and performed as it should, but the shave was just uncomfortable. I could feel some irritation after the first pass which I don’t ever remember before. By the time I finished my shave I had a couple weepers on my cheek and neck. I honestly don’t think I have ever had a weeper from a DE on my cheek. I was perplexed. Love the blades, like the razor, and the soap is one of my top performers.

What I figured is that I got my first ‘DUD’ Blade. It makes sense because I always make sure my blade is aligned and the TTO is tightened fully. The previous shave was pretty rough as well. Still not bad only having had one dud blade since I started that I can remember.

So my last two most recent shaves have been awesome, and more like the great shaves I had been getting prior to Thursday and Friday. I think I am back on track and have some of my favorite soaps lined up for the next few days. Sure one of them is Highly mentholated and may not be the best choice, but maybe I can WILL spring into finally arriving!!

Leave a Reply

