A Frugal Shave and a Thank You!!!!

Yesterday was an awesome day for my blog and myself. And for that I need to thank the people who made it so awesome.Yesterday I announced my giveaway here on my blog. It was awesome to see guys subscribe and others private message me to ask me to subscribe them. I noticed if on your cell phone you cannot subscribe….or at least I couldn’t figure out how. Either way I was able to subscribe the folks who couldn’t do it themselves. I appreciate the support and I am not looking forward to the draw early next week. So YES!! There is time to still get in on the draw. Thank you all so much. I love writing the blog and am always happy when someone tells me they enjoy it. CHEERS TO YOU ALL!!!!

Now onto today’s Shave!

sotdmar26-3Razor : Cased Gillette Fatboy(case not shown) – $6

Blade : Rapira Swedish Supersteel – $0.12 or 100 for $12 Canadian shipped

Brush : Semogue Owners Club Boar – $32 Canadian shipped to my door

Soap : Razorrock Zi’Peppino – Free!! Sent to me by a great friend in the shaving community, or it can be purchased for under $8

Toner : Thayer’s Rose – Free, Sample bottle I won on Instagram. Full bottles go for around $12

Aftershave : Nivea Soft – $3 approximately. A steal of a deal at any price. Followed by Huggy Bears Maple Bay Rum – Free sample……my wife loves this stuff on me!!!

The Theme on Badger and Blade’s SOTD thread this week is “Shaving on a Budget”. So this week I have been trying to use some products and stuff that I got for really good prices, or are a great bang for your buck. Today hits the mark perfectly. An Awesome low-cost shave. A shave as good as any shave at any price to be honest.

While the Fatboy isn’t the norm at that price, they can be found cheap if you look in the right places. I mentioned earlier in the week on how I love vintage Gillette’s when it comes to low-cost razors. If you look hard enough for long enough it pays off. I have never paid more than $40 for a vintage razor…..and I don’t think I will unless its something I absolutely have to have.

The Semogue Owners Club is the priciest piece of today’s shave. However, in my opinion it is the best boar brush you can buy. I absolutely love this brush more each time I use it. It’s amazing how it gets so soft when broken in, yet tears into hard soaps with ease and is a face latherers dream. Did I mention the handle is just awesome as well. Great size and shape and I love the look of the cherry woods grain. For $30 you will not be disappointed one bit. I know guys with brushes worth $200+ that prefer this brush. It’s a must have in my opinion.

The Rapira Swedish Supersteels. This is something I find hard to recommend because blades seem the most personal of all products from what I have found. I myself really like these and for $12 to my door I am a very happy camper. I also like Voskhods, Gillette Platinum and Silver Blues, and I think Astra SP are a decent blade as well. but take that with a grain of salt as I know guys that love these as well and I know guys who aren’t big fans. however that comes with every single blade available. I cannot name one that is liked by everyone.

Razorock’s Zi’Peppino!! This is possibly my favorite soap. Easily in my Top 5. This is based on everything I get from this soap. I absolutely love the scent. I get killer performance out of it. And it’s easily one of the best Bang for your Buck products out there. I wish I knew a cologne that smelled like this….I would buy it for sure. The only thing that may not be exceptional about this soap is post shave….and that’s not to say it isn’t good. It’s just not Haslinger or Strop Shoppe good. This is a must have soap.

Nivea Soft. Just buy some and thank me later. It’s that simple. It’s that good. You cannot get so much value from something that costs so little.

Thayer’s Witch Hazel. Now in this case I used the rose but I also have Lemon, Medicated Superhazel, cucumber, and the aftershave witch hazel. All of them are fantastic. The scents fade super fast and do not affect your balms or aftershaves or EdT or EdC at all. I find if I have a particularly rough shave the Medicated Superhazel really soothes the irritation best. The Rose is my top pick as there are some great properties in rose for your skin and it just leaves my face feeling perfect.

My shave today went perfectly. Got a 98% BBS…..one spot on my neck has a bit of irritation from earlier in the week and I only did one pass on it. My face feels so smooth and silky and even my wife commented on how great I smelled this morning. She loves the Maple Bay Rum that a fellow Canuck sent me to try. I love it as well. Just a great smelling bay rum with a hint of maple. its smells nice EH!!!

To close I just want to say thank you again to everyone who reads this blog. Seriously it means a great deal to me and motivates me to write more. Next week I think I will do some in-depth product reviews just to mix things up, along with my SOTDs. Please as always suggest a topic and I will see what I can come up with.

Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

