Wolf Whisker Wednesday…..and a GIVEAWAY

I’m pretty excited about Wolf Whisker Wednesday today and to announce my first Giveaway!!! To be honest I’m not sure which I am more pumped up about…stay tuned for details……OK, Lets get to the good stuff right off the bat! I had mentioned in a few previous posts that I was going to do a giveaway…..well, today is the day I am announcing it. What I am giving away is something I think any wet shaver would like. First thing is my Wet Shave Club DE razor and its cool custom leather head sheath. I enjoy this razor, but I have so many I would rather it be put to good use. The sheath may be my favorite part of it. It’s a really nice leather and will fit most DE razor heads. It’s great for travel and/or shipping!! This razor is great for new shavers and veterans alike. The head seems a tad more aggressive than the DE89 heads from Muhle and Edwin Jagger, but have no fear of it being overly aggressive. The weight of the handle makes it easy  to ease off on pressure as it has some heft. I have used it one time and have cleaned and sanitized it.

Secondly, I am going to throw in a bunch of different blades. I have a fairly nice assortment and figured its a nice way to try some different blades. not sure yet how many I will throw in or which brand, but rest assured it won’t be 2 packs of Derby’s and a pack of Merkurs(sorry if you actually like these blades).

If the razor and blades don’t interest you I can either draw another name or you can try to convert someone to wet shaving…..this is kind of my hope to be honest. I have passed along a few razors, soaps, and brushes etc in trying to convert people and hope yo guys can to. Obviously if you want to keep the razor and blades that is AWESOME as well!!

I realize this isn’t a huge prize but there is a reason. By keeping it smallish I can ship to anywhere in the world. That’s right!! Its open worldwide! So tell your friends as I will leave it open for a week or so.

How do I enter you ask?? Simple. You just have to be SUBSCRIBED to my blog. That means either following it via WordPress or through email notification. The email notification is something you click right on the blog page and submit your email. If you are not sure how to subscribe comment in the comment section and I can add your email to the subscription list for you.

I am sure this wont be my last giveaway and hope this can generate some more page followers. I have been thinking about doing some video….probably reviews, and not full shave vids as well.


WOLF WHISKER WEDNESDAY

A week or so ago Chris Bailey the TSE started an event to celebrate all the custom Wolf Whisker Brushes out there. The first annual Wolf Whisker Wednesday is being celebrated today. A day to show off your brushes made by the master Peter Wolf. I cannot say enough about this guy or his brushes. A true gentleman and his brushes are pieces of art. Obviously I think mine is the best one he has ever made, but I am sure there are a few that would argue that point.

Working on the brush with Peter was a joy. We exchanged emails and figured out the handle shape then the color scheme. translucents are not necessarily something that Peter works with a lot so we shared a lot of thoughts on the color and how dark or light I wanted the tints. I said I wanted the Hartford Whaler color scheme from the 80’s!!! And he nailed it! Beautiful blue and vibrant green in a handle shape he calls DWW. It’s similar to the old barbershop handle style and I loved it the moment I saw it. I settled on a TGN F2 2Band knot and it has turned out to be a very nice knot. Soft on the face with zero scritch.

sotdmar25-brush

I know guys always say ‘pictures don’t do the brush justice’, but it’s so true. I take my pics with my cell phone without a light box so the depth of the color just cannot be justified in my pics. This thing is CRAZY!!!!

This is PETERs Pic of the brush!!!

This is PETERs Pic of the brush!!!

NOW onto the Shave

sotdmar25-1

Razor : Edwin Jagger DE89L

Blade : Rapira SS

Brush : Wolf Whiskers Whaler

Soap : Proraso Green

Preshave : Proraso Green

Toner : Thayer’s Aftershave Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Local Gent Eucalyptus Mint

It never ceases to amaze me how great of shaves I get with Proraso. Every single time I use it the results or DFS or BBS. I know I say other soaps are my top soap and have better scents, but when push comes to shove and I had to pick one soap this would be in the TOP 5 with ease.

These products work very well together and my face feels fantastic. The Wolf Whisker brush whipped up a beautiful lather and felt fantastic while face lathering. This is another set up that I seem to use regularly as it just works so well.

A BBS result from some amazing products that everyone should own or at least try!!!

Cheers and Happy Hump Day!!!

14 comments

  1. John Spotto · March 25, 2015

    Awesome Looking brush. I know that thing gets lots of love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rzedan · March 25, 2015

    Nice!
    Congrats on the giveaway. Great idea and you definitely need more people reading your blog. awesome articles. I’m spreading the word.
    Rod

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 25, 2015

      Thank you very much. I always love hearing people are enjoying it!

      Like

  3. Chris Calhoun · March 25, 2015

    Man you’re talented writer. Love reading your Blog. Keep it going my friend

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jesse Garcia · March 25, 2015

    I’m not sure how to subscribe to your blog, could you please add me?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Philip Paradis · March 26, 2015

    Awesome Blog, I have enjoyed since the beginning.

    I can’t seem to find the subscribe button for your page and well also a chance at you first give away.

    Thanks for the great reviews and sharing your journey with classic shaving.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 26, 2015

      Cheers!! Its in the bottom right on a Mac or PC I believe. Its a little tab that says ‘follow’. I’ll add you. And thanks for the compliments my friend

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Philip Paradis · March 26, 2015

    Oh and my email address is paradis.pd@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jason r · March 26, 2015

    Great article as always sir. I’ve been trying to get in on a brush from wolf for a while…I keep missing the window. I’ll get there eventually.

    Glad to hear I’m not the o it one that would easily put Proraso in my top 5 shave soaps. It’s classic, cheap and performs very well.

    Email is jrabishaw75@gmail.com

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 26, 2015

      Cheers J. Signed you up! There is now a list on wolf whiskers site I believe to sign up!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

