2 Different set ups, 2 great results

The great thing about wet shaving is the huge array of hardware and software that we can choose to use. While some things clearly go well together other combinations that work well together can be less obvious.Saturday night and this morning I had 2 absolutely fantastic shaves. I used 2 totally different set-ups, but the final result was almost identical. I will start by going over my nice and relaxed Saturday night shave.

My Saturday night shave is something that I have just recently started doing over the past month or so. Previously I would pretty much just shave Monday to Friday every morning before work. However, at 6am I never had a ton of time to relax and take my time. So I started my Saturday night shaves. This Saturday I had an absolutely fantastic shave…..actually one of the best overall to be honest.

sotdmar7Razor : Gillette New Head / iKon Bulldog Handle

Blade : Rapira SS

Brush : Oscar11 Omega Boar

Soap : Haslinger Schafmilch

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : Captains Choice bay Rum

Guys, this soap is crazy good. Yes the pucks are small and cost as much as a regular sized puck, but its awesome stuff. Made with sheep’s milk and lanolin this stuff lathers like a dream(15 second load) and leaves my face feeling freakin’ great post shave……heck I didnt even use a balm afterwards. The scent is a nice clean floral fragrance, but doesn’t have any affect on the aftershave in which you chose to wear.

the razor is simply my go to for a great shave…awesome combo! the brush is simply stunning and the Omega knot is quite soft. Since the knot was set lower than this particular knot is with its standard handle it isn’t as floppy and its easier to control the splay. I’m starting to see why guys are big fans of the Omega boar knots. It really whips of lather easy and is super easy to load off the puck.

The Captains Choice Bay Rum is nice, but I don’t enjoy it as much as the Barberry Coast Bay Rum. This Bay Rum is less heavy on the clove and cinnamon than the Barberry Coast, but has more bay and rum scent and may come across more rough and masculine. Both are great, and it’s just a matter of personal preference as to which scent one prefers.

All in all a great shave. BBS and no irritation what so ever.

This mornings shave was a Tobacco and Bay explosion. I wasn’t sure if my shave today would possibly stack up to Saturdays, but it sure did! I knew the scents would work together, but I wasn’t sure just how well.

sotdmar9Razor : EJ DE89 Head / Matador Handle

Blade : Gillette Platinum

Brush : Zenshave / HTGAM LE

Soap : Synergy/HTGAM Cavendish

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Havana Balm and Bay Rum no.28 splash

Now this is a killer combination of scents! The Brush Razor and blade combination was great. The fat handle is a bit heavier than the usual EJ handle and feels quite nice in hand. however those three things are always great, the big thing was the soap.

I had a stick of the Cavendish a few months ago that my dad took because he really liked the scent. I didn’t really want him to take it as I really enjoyed it and it was my only tobacco scent at the time. This puck I acquired in a trade and I am pretty sure it had never been lathered! The scent is a sweet pipe tobacco. Not flowery like a Tabac or one of the new Razorock tobacco’s in my opinion. This scent reminds me of a pipe shop. I really had forgotten just how much I enjoyed it. It performed well and lathered really easy. Combined with the Havana balm and Bay Rum aftershave this was a killer combo of scents. The best part is that even 3 hours later I get the odd whiff of the tobacco and still have a nice scent of clove/cinnamon from the Bay Rum. Man I love the Barberry Coast stuff. Not only did I get a BBS, but my face feels incredible and I smell pretty damn good as well!!

There are 3 types of people in this world; Those who can count, and those who cannot.

4 comments

  1. Jason r · March 9, 2015

    When it comes to hardware and software for shaving i forgot how to count long ago. Great article and two wicked shaves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. adrianoarrigo · March 9, 2015

    HTGAM Cavendish !!! Love it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

