TGIF: and the week that was

A great week of shaving. An even BETTER week of Mail Calls! What better way to end the week than with a straight razor SOTD and a inaugural use of a  new soap.It was a busy week of shaves and new stuff in the den. A new Oscar11 brush takes the cake for best mail call, but a couple of new soaps arrived that may just battle for that top spot in my rotation(really I have no rotation. I just pick a soap I feel like using).

Yesterday I received a tub of Caties Bubbles Boucles Fruite and SYNERGY/HTGAM Cavendish in the mail. As I mentioned yesterday I have used the Cavendish so I chose the Caties for today’s shave.

sotdmar6-1

Razor : Wade and Butcher 6/8″

Brush : Wolf Whiskers “WHALER”

Soap : Caties Bubbles Boucles Fruite

Toner : Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm

Scent of the Day : West Third Brand ‘Tobacco 1812’

The label and the name ‘Boucles Fruite’ suggest this soap is a fruit loop scented soap…However, that is not what I get from it. This is not a bad thing. The scent I get is of Peach flavoured Campino hard candies. As soon as I took the lid off and took a whiff it triggered memories of those candies. I remember having them all the time back in Ontario 10+ years ago. I really like this scent despite the fact it has me craving these candies since my first sniff.

I’m not going to go into much detail on the soap as i would like to use it a few times before making any judgements, besides the scent. It lathered super easy and the lather performed very well. No learning curve or test lathers needed with this stuff. Provided some nice protection and slickness for my first straight razor shave in a couple of weeks.

Also in the mail yesterday was my W & B straight from Val. Freshly honed and begging to be used I could not deny it. Wow, I sure must have messed up the edge on it before because this thing shaved like an absolute dream. Now I just have to hone my stropping skills and keep the edge maintained. Guess I will be watching stropping videos on Youtube today.

sotdmar6-3All in all a great shave. Not to mention the ‘WHALER’ Wolf Whiskers brush…..this thing is really rounding into form and is a super soft face lathering machine with great flow through.

As for the week that was I couldn’t be happier. The blog is being viewed by quite a few people and they are leaving comments which tells me they like the read. New soaps and brushes in the den always makes me happy as well. Also the first EdT I have bought in years. Tobacco 1812 goes nicely with all my tobacco soaps and Barberry Coast Havana Balm.

Have an awesome weekend, and I’ll have another post on Monday. CHEERS!!

“We’re not gonna take it anymore” – Twisted Sister when talking about replacement razor cartridge prices.

6 comments

  1. adrianoarrigo · March 6, 2015

    I have Catie’s Bubble Jardin d’Or and is really one of the best I ever tried. But, in confidence, there were very few soaps that disappointed me for real. There are so many good soaps out there 😆😆

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 6, 2015

      So very true. I think I’ve tried One really bad soap. Most stuff is really good from the artisans. Especially if you read reviews its easy to avoid the duds.

      Liked by 1 person

      • adrianoarrigo · March 6, 2015

        Well said. I used to try everything I can but to be honest from 3$ cream to 30$ soap I’ve found only one (Da Vinci soap from Germany) product I will never buy again. Same for the aftershaves. And reading reviews like yours it’s easy to choose between good and worse stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Froogle_Jimmy · March 6, 2015

        GFT sandalwood soap was the worst soap I ever used. Couldn’t lather it. All others worked. Its pretty much just choosing your favorite scent now.

        Like

  2. Jason r · March 6, 2015

    Great article as usual, like your other readers I can identify with the soap fetish. I grab just about everything I can just to give it a whirl. Settling on a soap or cream, for me, means the performance and feel are there. I’ve yet to find a scent I dont like so I don’t put much emphasis on it. I’ve heard great things about Caties’ soaps…may have to give one a spin.

    Cheers,

    J

    Liked by 1 person

    • Froogle_Jimmy · March 6, 2015

      I love the scent of this one….so many I want to try. I think Cigar Lounge may be next on my list….or CRSW select

      Like

Leave a Reply

