A Simple Pleasure

Not all shaves are created equal. Some shaves are challenging whether it be a new soap, razor, or brush. While others are simple and easy and a pleasure. Today’s shave was an absolute pleasure from start to finish.For the past 13 months or so I have been enjoying my weekday morning routine of showering then shaving. It’s a time to relax and think about the day to come. An escape from the rest of the world and some nice me time. It may only be about 45 minutes, but its MY 45 minutes. Now onto the weaponry!!

feb26

Razor : 1937 Gillette Sheraton

Blade : Rapira Swedish Supersteel

Brush : Zenshave/HTGAM LE

Soap : Razorock Tobacco #1

Toner : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Havana Aftershave Balm

I have talked about all of the products before on this blog and my feelings are that they are all top notch and things I always look forward to using.

The Sheraton is a real looker! Beautiful gold color but she will bite if you don’t watch your technique. I find her to be the most aggressive of all my Open Combs, but I am not sure if technically she is. The resulting shaves she gives are so close and smooth. This razor has a permanent spot in my den, but I like to just use her minimally.

The brush is amazing and the soap has a scent that I just love. A great product for the price and the formulation I feel is better than previous Razorock soaps in my opinion as far as post shave feel goes.

The Thayer’s Witch Hazel is an absolute must for me. The rose just happens to work wonders for my skin. If you do a little search on the benefits of rose, witch hazel and rose water you will see why. It’s just great stuff.

The Havana balm is simply THE BOMB! Every aspect of it is exactly what I want in a balm. Scent is wonderfully light tobacco and vanilla to my nose. It moisturizes without leaving a greasy feeling. And leaves the face feeling supple and smooth as well as protected!

While this may not be my ‘GO TO’ set up for the perfect shave it sure does fit the bill. Do you have a certain combo you use when a great shave is a must?

“Straight Shave Outta Compton” – N.W.A

4 comments

  1. Jason r · February 27, 2015

    My GO TO soap will always be Proraso Green, brush: Plisson, razor: Gillette Flare Tip, AS: Fine. The brush and aftershave are the only two things that have changed recently. The razor is a staple as is the soap. I know the razor like an old friend and the soap leaves my face feeling nice a cool.

    I will always have a spot in my den reserved for Proraso Green.

    Like

  2. Allen · February 27, 2015

    I’m gonna have to try the rose witch hazel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

