A trip to the Mother Country

One of my favorite place in the world is London, England. This mornings shave was my ode to the Mother Country and all her Majesty.

Walking the streets of London whether it be in the morning, afternoon, or at night just evokes a feeling of being alive. There is so much going on, so many scents to smell, so many sights to see, and so many different people to take in. I have been lucky enough to visit London on three separate occasions and even go to a wedding at The Tower of London…..and yes it was as amazing as you could imagine! So this morning I tried to bring back some of those memories with my shave. Was the shave rubbish? Or am I just ‘taking the piss’ from you ‘tossers’? On to the shave!!!

Feb24-2Razor : Edwin Jagger DE89L

Blade : Rapira Swedish Supersteel

Soap : The Strop Shoppe ‘London Morning’ special edition with Tallow

Brush : “The Whaler” custom Wolf Whisker 2-Band

Witch Hazel : Thayer’s Rose

Aftershave : The Local Gent Eucalyptus Mint Aftershave Balm

Yet another new arrival to my den are a couple of Strop shoppe soaps. I received 1887 Limited Edition, and today’s offering of London Morning.

Initial impressions of the soap are quite good….great in fact. The soap has a very intriguing scent that I cannot get enough of. A manly mix of Citrus, vetiver, musk and cedar wafts from the tub. Not the strongest scent but easily amongst my favorites pre-bloom and before lathering. I put about a tablespoon or so of hot water on the soap while I showered in order to allow the soap to bloom(Guys this is a must for all soaps…it seriously changes the scent for the better and really brings it out of every soap I have owned). Needless to say the scent had grown while I was in the shower and I really love it. I just wish it was a bit stronger, but still an amazing scent in my opinion. The scent reminds me of what a business man would wear to the office….just fantastic. As for loading well this may be the easiest soap I have ever loaded. Right up there with Martin de Candre. I loaded it for maybe 25 seconds and had a ridiculous amount of lather. I could have shaved a Yak. The soap also lathered so easily and gave an awesome thick, slick, cushioning lather that was a joy to shave with. Man am I ever impressed with this soap. I realize I like most soaps, but that’s because I do a lot of research before I trade or acquire new soaps. Not to mention the quality of the artisan soaps available is incredible. As for post shave feel, well this was also a treat. the only soap I would say equal to this post shave wise would be Haslinger Schafmilch. Id call them about even, maybe a slight nod to Haslinger. All in all I am very happy about the trade I made for these two Strop Shoppe soaps! the packaging is nice and simple. Black and white plastic tub with a waterproof label(I think) on top. However, the tub is filled to the brim with soap giving you about 6 ounces of soap which is pretty awesome.

Enough about the soap. There was also an amazing brush involved. I cannot thank Peter Wolf enough for helping this brush become a reality. I loved his DWW style brush the second I saw it. But I always wanted a transparent resin handle. When I contacted Peter at Wolf whiskers he hadn’t really done many translucent/transparent resins before but said he was up to the challenge and we discussed colors and size etc…A seriously amazing guy to deal with. We also discussed knot choices and I decided on an F2 2-band from the golden nib. I am very happy with this choice as it is enough of a difference from my Zenshave 2-band to be noticeable. The knot is really starting to come into its own. Lathers like mad and tears into soaps while being soft on the face with enough backbone to face lather. The handle is just a perfect weight and amazingly not slippery at all. if you are looking at getting a custom I highly recommend www.wolfwhiskers.com

The razor and blade combo was smooth as I have come to expect and left my face feeling like a babies bottom.The EJ is a British made razor so it fit the bill for the English Theme of todays shave! immaculate fit and finish of this razor. An absolute stunner and a razor I will NEVER let leave my den.

Thayer’s rose was again my choice of Witch Hazel toner and I followed that with The Local Gent Eucalyptus mint aftershave balm. Guys, this local gent balm is awesome. My face feels amazing. the quality of this stuff is top notch and is the perfect alternative to my Barberry Coast Havana balm. Nice minty scent is extremely refreshing. Perfect to pair with Proraso green or minty scents as well as cologne type scents. Very high praise for this artisan I have been following on Instargram¬† for quite a while. When this sample runs low I will be looking at getting some more for sure.

Just a wonderful shave that brought back those amazing memories of walking the streets of London with my amazing wife before our wedding years ago. And also memories of my sister’s wedding just more than a year ago at The Chapel of St.Peter ad Vincula at The Tower of London….oh, how I wish I could be back there away from this frigid winter on the East Coast of Canada.

chaplin

Myself and the Chaplin of St.Peter’s ad Vincula

Walking the streets of London with my Beautiful wife!

Walking the streets of London with my Beautiful wife!

Does any of your shaving gear remind you of special places or events? I’d like to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

“Don’t Shave so, Don’t shave so, Don’t shave so close to me” – Sting

Leave a Reply

