Whats in your Carry On?

Many of us travel for work and even more of us travel for pleasure. Even when traveling for pleasure I like to stay clean shaven for the most part. However, we cannot bring our entire den and we are forced to chose but a few products to bring along……how do we choose?

I myself like to pack light. Which for me means a small dopp kit with just the bare necessities. This past weekend I went away for 3 days and 2 nights. I was traveling with my wife and son and staying in a suite just for a nice refreshing weekend away. Since we were only going to take one suitcase I knew I had to pack the minimal amount of shave gear I could get away with. So without further ado here is what I chose to bring!

Nice simple travel setup

Nice simple travel setup!

Razor: Edwin Jagger DE89 Head / iKon Bulldog SS handle

Brush: Plisson Synthetic

Soap: La Toja Shave Stick

Blade: Rapira Swedish Supersteel

Aftershave: Thayer’s Aftershave Witch Hazel

Ja-Lu toiletries Nights of Izmir

It seems as though this set up is my go to setup while traveling. With space at a premium there isn’t enough room for a full tub of soap, straight razor, strop, or aftershave balm. Not only did I chose this setup based on convenience but also based on performance. The last thing you need is to have a bad shave put a damper on your vacation.

The La Toja shave stick has become my favorite shave stick that I have owned. First it comes in a great travel tube and is not very large or bulky. The scent is very nice and clean and light. As for performance this soap excels. I always get a great shave when using this soap. It is funny because when you first start lathering this soap it almost seems like nothing at all is happening. Then, Seconds later, the lather simply explodes! Just a joy to use and it can be bought for about $4.99 here in North America. I recommend anyone who travels to pick up a stick, but I warn you that you will start using it at home regularly….its THAT GOOD.

I used my Plisson Synthetic for this shave. I always travel with it since it dries so quickly and is very very light/ I think this is where this brush excels for me. I am sure it will soon only be used for travel once I acquire a few more brushes. Its a great brush, but as I have said I like a more backbone!

When it comes to getting a nice effortless quick shave the Edwin Jagger DE89 head fits the bill perfectly. This was my first DE and I still love it today. I pair it with the heavier handle of the iKon bulldog which makes shaving that much easier. I find I add the bulldog handle to most of my DE heads as the extra weight really makes applying zero pressure easy and allows the razor to do its job without forcing it. Did I mention it looks great too!! I loaded the razor with a Rapira Swedish Supersteel blade. Now I see these blades on eBay going for about $10-$12 shipped for 100. This is a great deal as I really enjoy these blades. id put them up amongst my favorites(Gillette Platinum, Silver Blue, Voskhods).

To finish my shaves I always do a cold water rinse then apply some witch hazel. I always use Thayer’s, but the scent may change from day to day. The aftershave witch hazel is great and really tones the skin….not to mention it has minimal scent so any aftershave or cologne will be unaffected when applied afterwards. Witch Hazel is a must in my opinion……if you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend you do.

Lastly I put on some Nights of Izmir by Ja-Lu. I really love this scent. A light cologne scent that doesn’t engulf the room, but nice for wearing around the hotel and day to day stuff. I have this scent in a full bottle as well. Id say its my ‘go to’ after Bay Rum. I also have 4 other scents by Ja-Lu in travel sizes. Tabac, Limon, Veiled Flower, and White Lily. Let me say that the TABAC is awesome and pairs perfectly with, well TABAC and the new Razorock tobacco scents.

In the end I got a great shave from this setup. Quick and effortless was exactly what I needed and got.

So what does your travel setup look like? Can you keep it all in one dopp kit or do you will an entire carry-on?

“The Haters gonna Hate, Hate, Hate, Hate, Hate. The Shavers gonna Shave, Shave, Shave, Shave shave…Shave it off, Shave it off.” – Taylor Swift

2 comments

  1. Andy · February 17, 2015

    Great set-up Scott. I am going away for the month of March to Mexico and I might look to buy La Toja. I already have a cheap synthetic that I wouldn’t mind losing as well as a cheap Gillette type razor (called the Sterling). I haven’t thought about the A/S yet or balm. That will be my next consideration. Where can I buy the La Toja stick here in Canada Scott? Ok, thanks again for the great ideas.

    Like

    • froogle_jimmy · February 17, 2015

      Thanks!! La Toja stick can be bought at italian barber. Its usually on sale for $4.99 i think. Worth it for sure

      Like

Leave a Reply

