New Soap SOTD

Well, the vacation is over and I am back at home. All is not dismal though as I have a new soap in the den to try that I have heard great things about!!!

One of my favorite things about wet shaving is the variety. new razors, new brushes, new blades, new anything gets me excited about the next shave. Unlike my other hobbies like cycling and golf it’s fairly cheap to add something new to your collection.

On Friday I received a package all the way from Germany. Inside was three pucks of Haslinger shaving soap. Haslinger is an Austrian company that gets very high praise for their soaps. Although it may not be as well known as other soap maker all the reviews I have read are very positive. Schafmilch is easily the most talked about of Haslinger’s offerings so I could not wait to give it a try. It is often compared to Mitchell’s Wool Fat soap as it contains goats milk and lanolin. Many say its better, however I have never used MWF so I will not be able to compare them……YET. I also got Coconut and Sandalwood which both smell very nice. Now onto the shave!!!

feb17

Razor : 5/8″ Wostenholm and sons

Soap : Haslinger Schafmilch

Brush : Wolf Whiskers custom in Hartford Whalers colours

Post : Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Proraso green Pre/post cream

First impressions of the scent is that it is very pleasant and soapy. Slightly floral and definitely no obtrusive by any means. the soap loaded very easily onto the brush and produced a very nice lather. It was not quite as thick as I would have liked, but I did not add very much water which I am sure was the reason. All other facets of performance were great. Lots of cushion and the post shave feel were fantastic. I am seeing why those that have tried this soap swear by it. i will do a more detailed review in the next couple of days once I have the lather dialed in and a couple of shaves under my belt….I mean on my face….I would never use a straight under my belt 😉

The WW custom brush is breaking in nicely and is very soft with a little bit of backbone….I am getting antsy for this brush to be completely broken in. On looks alone I give the brush a 10/10….performance thus far about a 7.5-8.

The Wosty made short work of my 36 hour stubble. I did manage to slice myself pretty good though when I decided not to pay attention while going across the grain. Had to break out the alum block which quickly stopped the bleeding and allowed me to finish my shave no worse for the wear.

I finished the shave with a splash of Thayer’s Rose and then some Proraso green pre/post cream. A very pleasant shave to start the work week!

“You go and shave the best for last” – Vanessa Williams

2 comments

  1. Andy · February 17, 2015

    I would love to see pics of your shave den sometime Scott. Great blog once again. I’m not a big fan of straight razors, but I do respect the craft and those who commit to spending time with these special razors.

    Like

    • froogle_jimmy · February 17, 2015

      Straights are an entirely different beast. I have a love hate relationship with them.

      I am sure i will snap a pic of my den sooner or later. I just cleaned it yesterday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

