Explicit and Exquisite – XXX

What can I say about Razorock’s XXX shaving soap that hasn’t been said before? Well I will give my take on this very popular artisan shaving soap, and wrap up a great week of shaving with Razorock soaps.

feb13xxx After my well went dry yesterday and I was forced to go a weekday without shaving, things are back to normal. I returned to the straight razor and decided to use one of the most popular soaps around. Now here is the line up!

Razor : 6/8″ Wade & Butcher ‘McAvity’s Special’

Soap : Razorock XXX

Brush : Zenshave / HTGAM collaboration LE Canada Brush

Post : Thayer’s Rose Witch Hazel

Aftershave : Barberry Coast Bay Rum no.28(not pictured)

It felt really nice to use the straight razor to shave a couple of days growth. The W & B sliced the whiskers with ease on each pass. While my straight razor skills are far from flawless they do seem to be improving with each shave. There is also something a bit more satisfying about getting a great shave with such an old school piece of hardware. This is a razor that a man used probably close to a hundred years ago and probably got just as great of a shave as I do today. I often think about where my razors have been and who has used them over time. This particular straight was restored by Val at The gentleman’s Den. Seriously look him up on Facebook and Instagram…..The guy is a wizard with restores and honing. I didn’t want anything really done to the blade except a hone as I wanted to see the aging on the blade. I think it adds character and reminds me of what this razor had probably been through. As for the scales I went for Matte Black after talking with Val for quite a while about what I wanted. The white wedge/spacer and silver pinning just set this razor off. All the focus is kept on the blade yet the shoes look absolutely killer and classic! These scales are like a tuxedo for the blade.

So XXX soap. To be honest I wasn’t in love at first sniff with this soap. From the first time I checked out a forum until today you cannot go far without reading about this soaps greatness.A friend of mine sent me a tub to try out and I was very happy to receive it. Who wouldn’t want to see what all the fuss was about? I actually received this soap a couple of weeks after getting the Razorock Zi’peppino. So needless to say this soap had a lot to live up to. The scent…..hmmm, honestly it left a lot to be desired my first couple of uses. It was nice, but fairly faint and not as bold as Zi’peppino and other soaps I enjoy. Fast forward a few uses and now the scent is quite strong on this soap. It has bloomed with each use and is now an absolute wonderful smelling soap. It is a scent clone of Aqua di Parma from what I understand. I have never tried AdP(around $70 a tub) but have heard they are fairly similar. Now the performance of this soap, as with all Razorock soaps that I have tried, is fantastic. Nice slick rich lather. Very easy to load your brush(I personally load a fairly dry brush and add water as I face lather). Maybe the only mediocre thing about this soap is the post shave feel….which is decent, just not up there with some of the other top soaps. I would %100 recommend trying this soap as with all Razorock soaps. For the price and quality they are very tough to beat.

As of right now the Zenshave brush is my TOP performing brush. Yes I just got my custom but it needs to be broken in a bit. The knot on this brush is absolutely perfect for my taste. It is silky soft when wet and has zero scritch or scratch and the perfect amount of backbone. When dry the knot is very hard which is due to what some say are ‘gel tips’. I don’t know what the knot tips are called but ‘YES PLEASE’ I’ll have another. Just a pleasure to use not to mention look at. The Craftsmanship put into all of the ZenShave brushes is amazing. They are made by a Canadian artisan who uses beautiful different woods to create one of a kind unique shave brushes. This brush whips up lather with ease and releases the lather wonderfully when applying.

feb13xxx

For my post shave today I used my Thayer’s Rose witch hazel. By far my top witch hazel from Thayer’s and I have about 5 or 6 different ones. The rose just works magic with my skin. After applying the witch hazel I decided that it’s Friday and lets throw on my favorite aftershave. BARBERRY COAST Bay Rum!! I didn’t think I was a Bay Rum guy after trying a bay rum soap and really not fancying the scent. then I received a sample of Captains choice Bay Rum and my mind was changed. I was lucky enough to win a bottle of the Barberry Coast Bay Rum on Instagram. It took about one use to become my top aftershave. Nice and spicy with a little bit of sweetness and clovey goodness. I’ll admit I’m not the best at describing scents. I will say its just awesome!!! A perfect finish to a wonderful shave or any shave for that matter.

Now to wrap up the week of Razorock soaps. It was a week of great shaves with some of my favorite scents that I own. These soaps wont break the bank and are available in numerous different scents. Performance wise these soaps could sell for 2 or three times more than Joe at Italian Barber sells them for.  I have used 6 or 7 different soaps from Razorock and the performance was fantastic from all of them. Only the P.160 didn’t agree with my skin due to one of the oils in it. This is fairly common with P.160 and Cella and many of the almond soaps. Here is a top 4 list of the soaps I used this week

1) Zi’Peppino – The scent is simply amazing

2 + 3) Tobacco #1 and XXX – I have only used the Tobacco a couple times so I couldn’t put it ahead of the XXX, but given a couple more uses it may even challenge Zi’Peppino for top spot. I also really like the argan oil formula of this soap…I think it improves the post shave of the soap.

4) Tobacco #2 – I simply prefer Tobacco #1’s scent. I find the #2 closer to Tabac than #1. Both are great scents so it’s just a personal preference.

Due yourselves a favor and try some Razorock soaps if you haven’t. I don’t work for Razorock or Italian barber, but will support a guy who makes great affordable soaps that everyone can enjoy….even us Canadians and not pay an arm and a leg for shipping.

I am not sure if I will be posting again until Tuesday as we have a holiday here in Nova Scotia on Monday and I will be relaxing with my family. As for next week I am going to be using Haslinger Schafmilch. A Goats milk soap that gets rave review from the guys who have used it and often compared to Mitchell’s Wool Fat soap one of the heavyweights of the wet shaving world!

“SHAVE tonight. Fight the break of dawn” – Eagle Eye Cherry

6 comments

  1. Andy WC · February 13, 2015

    Scott, I really appreciate the work and thought you’ve put in to this daily blog. Hats off to you! A couple things. First, your custom brush (the one with the synthetic knot) doesn’t need any break in, from what I understand. As I’m sure you also know, it doesn’t require soaking before your shave either. Secondly, a question. What is the knot on your Zenshave brush? If badger, what type? Silivertip? Black badger? I will try RR XXX sometime. I saw it the other day at Menessentials, being a Toronto men’s grooming store. I did smell it and didn’t think it was special. NOw that you’ve mentioned that the scent comes out after blooming, I should give it another look.

    Cheers,

    Andy

    Like

    • froogle_jimmy · February 13, 2015

      Cheers Andy. My new brush is actually knotted with a TGN 2-Band F2. Its definetly not syntgetic. The knot on the Zenshave is also a 24mm 2-Band. Yes XXX scent grows after use.
      So glad you are enjoying my posts! Next time im in Toronto I need to go to mens essentials!

      Like

  2. cap7597 · February 13, 2015

    Great review. I like the honesty. I haven’t tried the XXX, but Zi’ Peppino is one of my top favorites. Although, P160 is my favorite RR. Love the almond scent and performance.
    Rose, yes.
    Keep them coming. Got my Tobacco 1&2 in today. First sniff thoughts, I like the #1 better.
    Would also like to here your thoughts on the different De blades you use.

    Like

    • froogle_jimmy · February 13, 2015

      Yes another #1 fan. Thank you glad you enjoyed the post!
      Thats a great idea about a post on DE blades, but one trouble is they are even more variable to each person than soaps. But i will give my take on them.

      Like

  3. Felix · February 14, 2015

    Great Stuff you got going here!! Really Enjoying this man… Keep it up! Great Reviews and I am very glad you enjoyed both soaps…. I was amazed when you told me you haven’t tried RR soaps… couldn’t let that go!! hahahaha Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • froogle_jimmy · February 14, 2015

      Cheers!!! You got me hooked on the RR Felix!! I think that tub of XXX saw most of north america lol. Glad you liked my blog so far!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

